To recognize scientists, journalists, and public servants for significant contributions to science and to the public’s understanding of science, the Association administers the awards listed below. All awards are presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting immediately following the award year.


AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards



The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards represent the pinnacle of achievement for professional journalists in the science writing field. The awards recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals (rather than institutions, publishers or employers) for their coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics.

Since their inception in 1945, the awards have gone to more than 400 individuals for their achievements in science journalism. The winning journalists have helped to foster the public’s understanding and appreciation of science. Independent screening and judging committees select the winning journalists and their entries based on scientific accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation and value in fostering a better understanding of science by the public.

Committees composed of reporters and editors judge the entries. The decisions of the judging committees are final.

The 2014 awards will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, Calif. in February 2015. The award for each category is $3,000. AAAS will reimburse winners for reasonable travel and hotel expenses. In cases of multiple authors or producers, only one person’s travel expenses will be covered.

2015 Contest

The entry deadline for the 2015 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award is August 1. The entry submission website will open in the beginning of May 2015.

Contest Year: 1 July 2014 through 30 June 2015

Deadline: All entries must be subumitted on or before 1 August 2015.

Frequently Asked Questions

Please read our FAQ for answers to frequently asked questions.

Previous Recipients

Read the AAAS news article about the 2014 winners.

View the list of 2013 winners and past recipients.

Questions? Email