Biological Sciences (G)

 

Welcome to the newly elected office holders and nominated AAAS Fellows of the Biological Sciences Section G.

 

 

SECTION STEERING GROUP

The section steering group compises the secretary, chair line and members-at-large.

Secretary

Barbara L. Illman (2015)
U.S. Forest Service Forest Products Lab
billman@src.wisc.edu

Retiring Chair

Joy Bergelson (2015)
University of Chicago
jbergels@uchicago.edu

Chair

Dennis Thiele (2015)
Duke University
dennis.thiele@duke.edu

Chair-Elect

Steve Henikoff (2015)
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
steveh@fhcrc.org

Members-at-Large

Nancy J. Cox (2015)
University of Chicago
ncox@bsd.uchicago.edu

Ellen D. Ketterson (2016)
Indiana University
ketterso@indiana.edu

Bonnie Bartel (2017)
Rice University
bartel@rice.edu

Susan R. Wente (2018)
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
susan.wente@vanderbilt.edu

COUNCIL DELEGATES

James R. Broach (2016)
Pennsylvania State College of Medicine
jbroach@hmc.psu.edu

Judy Callis (2016)
University of California, Davis
jcallis@ucdavis.edu

Lynn Cooley (2016)
Yale University School of Medicine
lynn.cooley@yale.edu

Jessica Gurevitch (2016)
Stony Brook University
Jessica.Gurevitch@stonybrook.edu

George A. O’Toole (2016)
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
georgeo@Dartmouth.edu

Nancy C. Walworth (2016)
University of Medicine &
Dentistry of New Jersey
walworna@umdnj.edu

ELECTORATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (ENC)

Joy Bergelson (ENC Chair, 2015)
University of Chicago
jbergels@uchicago.edu

Sarah Hake (2015)
University of California, Berkeley
hake@berkeley.edu

Jeannie T. Lee (2015)
Massachusetts General Hospital
lee@molbio.mgh.harvard.edu

Tom Curran (2016)
University of Pennsylvania
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
currant@email.chop.edu

Suzanne Sandmeyer (2016)
University of California, Irvine
sbsandme@uci.edu

Vicki L. Chandler (2017)
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
vicki.chandler@moore.org

Claire Fraser (2017)
University of Maryland School of Medicine
cmfraser@som.umaryland.edu

Note: Terms end on the last day of the Annual Meeting held in the years given in parentheses.

Events

Section Activities at the 2014 Annual AAAS Meeting in Chicago will include:

Thursday, 13 February 2014

President's Address 
6:00 p.m.    

AAAS President's Reception 
7:30 - 9:00 p.m. 

Informal Dinner for Section Officers
7:30 - 9:00 p.m.
Organized by officers "CLOSED"

Friday, 14 February 2014

Continental Breakfast for General Meeting of the Section Officers
06:30 a.m.

General Meeting of the Section Officers 
7:00 a.m.
Open to all section officers

Non-Coding RNA in Development and Disease 
08:30 a.m.    
Section Sponsored Symposium; Open to all meeting participants
    
AAAS Section G (Biological Sciences) Fellows Reception 
7:00 p.m.    
Reception for Section Fellows and Speakers; By invitation only

Saturday, 15 February 2014

New Insights into Animal Behavior: The Role of the Microbiome 
08:00 a.m. 

AAAS Fellows Forum 
08:00 a.m.    

Biological Sciences Section Business Meeting
10:00 a.m.    
Open to all meeting participants

New Insights into Animal Behavior: The Role of the Microbiome
1:00 p.m.
Section Sponsored Symposium; Open to all meeting participants

Sunday, 16 February 2014

AAAS Council Meeting
9:00 p.m. 
Open to all registrants 

PM Planning Meeting for the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago
2:00 p.m.
Open to all section officers

AAAS Council and Section Officer Reception
6:30 p.m.
By invitation only

Affiliates

Over 200 professional societies are affiliated with the AAAS. Several have representatives at Biological Sciences Section G:

  • American Institute of Biological Sciences 
  • American Physiological Society 
  • American Phytopathological Society 
  • American Society of Animal Science 
  • American Society of Health-System Pharmacists 
  • American Society of Limnology and Oceanography 
  • American Society of Mammalogists 
  • American Society of Plant Biologists 
  • American Society of Plant Taxonomists 
  • American Statistical Association 
  • American Statistical Association 
  • Animal Behavior Society 
  • Association for Women in Science 
  • Association of Southeastern Biologists 
  • Behavior Genetics Association 
  • California Academy of Sciences 
  • Chi Beta Phi National Science Honorary 
  • Computerized Medical Imaging Society 
  • Cooper Ornithological Society 
  • Ecological Society of America 
  • Entomological Society of America 
  • Foundation for Science and Disability 
  • Gerontological Society of America 
  • International Biometric Society, Eastern and Western North American Regions 
  • International Society for Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions 
  • International Society of Protistologists 
  • Microscopy Society of America 
  • Mycological Society of America 
  • National Association of Biology Teachers 
  • National Speleological Society 
  • New York Academy of Sciences 
  • Paleontological Society 
  • Phi Sigma Biological Sciences Honor Society 
  • Phycological Society of America 
  • Sigma Delta Epsilon, Graduate Women in Science 
  • Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine 
  • Society for Integrative and Comparative Biology 
  • Society for Neuroscience 
  • Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality 
  • Society for the Study of Evolution 
  • Society for the Study of Social Biology 
  • Society of Systematic Biologists 
  • Society of Toxicology 
  • Soil Science Society of America 
  • West Virginia Academy of Science 
  • Wildlife Society