The ELISS Team

Staff & Leadership

Magaela Bethune – Communications Coordinator, ELISS

Edward G. Derrick – Chair of ELISS oversight committee and Chief Program Director, AAAS Center of Science, Policy, and Society Programs

Renske Erion – Partnerships Manager, ELISS

Mark S. Frankel – ELISS program lead at AAAS and Director, AAAS Scientific Responsibility, Human Rights & Law Program

Juliana Houghton – Program Manager, ELISS

Melanie Roberts – Founder and Director, ELISS


  • Kelly Edwards – Associate Dean of the Graduate School and Associate Professor of Bioethics and Humanities, University of Washington
  • Chris Ernst – Vice President, Leadership & Organization Effectiveness, Juniper Networks; and Senior Enterprise Faculty, Center for Creative Leadership
  • Aaron Goldner – Energy Policy Advisor, United States Senate
  • David Goldston – Director of Government Affairs, Natural Resources Defense Council
  • Margaret Krebs – Program Manager, Leopold Leadership Program
  • Neal Lane – Former Presidential Science Advisor and Director of the National Science Foundation and Distinguished Professor of Science and Technology Policy, Rice University
  • Bree Mitchell – Associate Director, Strategic Partnerships, Brenden-Colson Center, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Amanda Murphy – Project and Research Specialist, William D. Ruckelshaus Center
  • Gary Olson – Professor, Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences, University of California - Irvine
  • Cynthia Robinson – Director, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships
  • Tobin Smith – Vice President for Policy, American Association for Universities
  • Kate Stoll – Senior Policy Advisor, MIT
  • Samantha White – NINDS AAAS Science/Technology Policy Fellow, National Institutes of Health

Project Leads


ELISS would not be possible without volunteers with many different skills who asked “how can I help” to advance the ELISS mission. We are so grateful to the many, many people who have donated time and wisdom to help ELISS start and grow.