Organization and Governance







Board of Directors

2018-2019 Officers

Susan Hockfield

Susan Hockfield (2019)
Chair of the AAAS Board
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Margaret Hamburg

Margaret Hamburg (2020)
AAAS President
National Academy of Medicine

Steven Chu

Steven Chu (2021)
AAAS President-Elect
Stanford University

Carolyn Ainslie

Carolyn Ainslie
AAAS Treasurer
Princeton University

Rush D. Holt

Rush D. Holt
AAAS Chief Executive Officer
Executive Publisher, Science


Other Members

Cynthia M. Beall

Cynthia M. Beall (2020)
Case Western Reserve University

May R. Berenbaum

May R. Berenbaum (2020)
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Rosina M. Bierbaum

Rosina M. Bierbaum (2022)
University of Michigan/University of Maryland

Stephen P.A. Fodor

Stephen P.A. Fodor (2021)
13.8, Inc.

S. James Gates, Jr.

S. James Gates, Jr. (2021)
Brown University

Michael S Gazzaniga

Michael S. Gazzaniga (2019)
University of California, Santa Barbara

Laura H Greene

Laura H. Greene (2022)
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory/Florida State University

Kaye Husbands Fealing (2021)
Georgia Institute of Technology

Robert B. Millard

Robert B. Millard (2021)
MIT Corporation

Mercedes Pascual

Mercedes Pascual (2019)
University of Chicago

William D. Provine

William D. Provine (2020)
DuPont/Delaware Innovation Space


Note: Terms end on the last day of the Annual Meeting held in the year given in parentheses.