Skip to main content

Section on Industrial Science (P) Award

At the Association's 1956 meeting, the AAAS Section on Industrial Science (P) inaugurated an annual award for an outstanding achievement in technology by an American industrial firm or other organization. The award was administered by the officers of the section until 1972.


1971. No award given.

1970. Zenith Radio Corporation, for basic and applied research in the past decade that has resulted in significant contributions to science and technology in fields ranging from acousto-optics and acoustic surface waves to luminescence and neutron image intensification and numerous advancements in consumer electronics such as stereophonic FM broadcasting.

1969. Arthur D. Little Inc., for leading the way in applying science and technology to the solution of industrial, commercial, and governmental problems throughout the world, and being a resource for change through the application of new techniques and knowledge in research, engineering, and management.

1968. Texas Instruments Inc., for the commercial silicon transistor (1954), mass production of germanium radio transistors and circuit designs that made possible the pocket radio (1954), semiconductor integrated circuits (1958), geophysical exploration for oil by digital recording and processing of seismic data and employment of statistical communications theory (1963), and for research and development leading to large-scale production of high-purity silicon (1956).

1967. Mobil Oil Corporation, for continuing research contributions to oil and gas technology, and especially for its major improvements of deep-water production methods and its leadership of a major research effort to eliminate polluting emissions from gas-powered vehicles.

1966. United States Department of Commerce, for effective dissemination of reliable economic data, stimulation of economic growth, leadership in world trade, diversified pioneering activities in science and technology, and for significantly increasing communication between science and industry, to the benefit of all segments of the population in meeting human needs and aspirations.

1965. Stanford University, for contributing to the application of science in the formation, operation, and management of industrial organizations, and to the increased understanding of the role of industrial science in our society.

1964. Northern Electric Company, Ltd., Montreal, Canada, in recognition of the expanding activities of the Research and Development Laboratories and, in particular, exploratory work in solid state physics and ferrites.

1963. Case Institute of Technology, Cleveland, for the manner in which, through a program of undergraduate and graduate instruction, research, and consultation, it has been a major force in bringing American industry to new and high levels of productivity through American science and applied science.

1962. E. I. Du Pont de Nemours and Co., Inc., for research and development activities in the field of fluorocarbon polymers.

1961. Martin Marietta Corporation, Aerospace Division, Denver, for the advancement of aerospace technology through research.

1960. Bell Telephone Laboratories for work in the field of universal communications.

1959. Jointly to Armour and Company and Swift and Company for outstanding reseach programs to develop applications of basic scientific principles.

1958. Westinghouse Electric Corporation, Pittsburgh, for "Opcon," a machine based on a new concept in control systems of automatic operations and tests.

1957. P.R. Mallory & Company, Indianapolis, for development of the "Steelmet" process in powder metallurgy.

1956. General Electric Company, Instrument Department, Lynn, Massachusetts, for a fine-particle iron magnet.