Skip to main content

The AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books

2023 nominations open in April 15, 2022

AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize

The AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books celebrates outstanding science writing and illustration for children and young adults. The prize is meant to encourage the writing and publishing of high-quality science books for all age groups.

The Prize will be awarded in the following categories: Children's Science Picture Book (prize to author and illustrator), Middle Grades Science Book (prize to author), Young Adult Science Book (prize to author), and Hands-On Science Book (prize to author).

Winning authors and illustrators will receive $1,500 and a commemorative plaque.

Visit the awards submission guidelines page from April 15 through July 8, 2022, to submit a book. To get the most up-to-date information on the prize, visit the prize website and follow the prize on Twitter and Facebook.

The AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books is sponsored by Subaru. We thank them for their generous support.


  1. Submission of books will be open from April 15 through July 8, 2022.
  2. Submitted books must have a publication date between July 1, 2021 and July 31, 2022.
  3. The SB&F Prizes cover all aspects of science, including technology, mathematics, medicine, history of science, and biographies of scientists. Only nonfiction, science books are eligible.
  4. Publishers may submit as many books as they wish in each category.
  5. Books published by AAAS, Science, or Subaru will not be eligible.
  6. The books must be in the English language.
  7. Books from a series must be submitted individually and will be judged individually.
  8. Books will be judged based on the aforementioned eligibility criteria.
  9. Winners of the SB&F Prize are not eligible to win consecutive years.
  10. The closing date for entries is July 8, 2022. No entries received after this date will be considered.


Please carefully read the criteria for each category before entering.


  1. The judging panel is selected by AAAS. The judges' decisions are final.
  2. Publishers of nominated books will agree to contribute up to 10 copies of the book for the judging process.
  3. In the event that a book chosen as a finalist for the Prize, publishers will agree to:
    • contribute up to 10 additional copies of the book for final judging
    • check with authors' availability to attend the virtual awards ceremony at the AAAS Annual Meeting.
  4. Publishers of winning books will agree to contribute up to 10 additional copies of the book.


Nominations are open from April 15 through July 8, 2022, for the 2023 AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize. Visit the awards submission guidelines page to nominate a book.

For questions about a book's eligibility, please contact Sarah Ingraffea.


Book covers of the 2022 AAAS/Subaru Prize Winners


Children's Science Picture Book

Mimic Makers Biomimicry Inventors Inspired by Nature, by Kristen Nordstrom. Illustrated by Paul Boston. Charlesbridge, 2021.

Middle Grades Science Book

A Shot in the Arm!: Big Ideas that Changed the World, by Don Brown. Amulet Books, 2021.

Hands-On Science Book

Sky Gazing: A Guide to the Moon, Sun, Planets, Stars, Eclipses, and Constellations, by Meg Thacher. Storey Publishing, 2020.

Young Adult Science Book

Great Adaptations: Star-Nosed Moles, Electric Eels, and Other Tales of Evolution’s Mysteries Solved, by Kenneth Catania. Princeton University Press, 2020.


Visit the prize website to find previous winners listed by year and by category.



    Each year, AAAS recognizes significant contributions to science and the public’s understanding of science. Learn more about these awards and nominate a scientist, engineer, author, journalist or public servant for their outstanding work.

    All award winners are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics* and scientific integrity.
    *Breaches of professional ethics might include sexual misconduct, racial discrimination, or other ethical violations. Sexual harassment or retaliation for declining, objecting to, or reporting harassment or other sexual conduct may constitute a serious breach of professional ethics.

    The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is committed to equal opportunity for all persons, without regard to race, color, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, or other protected categories. AAAS seeks as diverse a pool of award nominations as possible from a wide range of disciplines, institutional types, and geographical locations. Nominations that will result in a candidate pool having an equitable representation of women, underrepresented minorities, and persons with disabilities are especially encouraged.