Skip to main content

International Scientific Cooperation Award Archive

<< Back to International Scientific Cooperation Award Archive

1999: Gunter E. Weller, Director, Center for Global Change Research; NOAA-UAF Cooperative Institute for Arctic Research, University of Alaska, Fairbanks. [Read his presentation given at the 2000 AAAS CAIP Annual Luncheon Meeting]

1998: Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Executive Director, Leadership for Environment and Development International Inc. [Read her presentation at the 1999 CAIP Annual Luncheon Meeting]

1997: Bert Richard Johannes Bolin, Former Chair, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change; and Professor Emeritus, Dept. of Meteorology Stockholm University, Sweden [Read his presentation at the 1998 CAIP Annual Luncheon Meeting]

1996: Philip Hemily, Advisor to the U.S. National Research Council and the National Academy of Engineering [Read his presentation at the 1997 award ceremony]

1995: Joseph Hamilton, Department of Physics, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

1994: Harold K. Jacobson, Center for Political Studies, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

1993: Thomas Malone, Sigma Xi Center, Research Triangle Park, N.C.

1992: Robert E. Marshak, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA awarded posthumously


The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. Any individual or small group in the scientific and engineering community that has contributed substantially to the understanding or development of science or engineering across national boundaries is eligible for this award.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations should be typed and include the following information:

  1. Nominator’s name, address, and phone number
  2. Nominee’s name and title, institutional affiliation, and address
  3. A summary of the action(s) that form the basis for the nomination (about 250 words)
  4. A longer statement, not to exceed three pages, providing additional details of the action(s) for which the candidate is nominated
  5. Two letters of support
  6. A curriculum vitae (3 page maximum) containing professional positions held.
  7. Any documentation (books, articles, or other materials) that illuminates the significance of the nominee’s achievement may also be submitted.

All materials become property of AAAS.

Completed nominations should be submitted to: Linda Stroud, CAIP Liaison, Directorate for International Programs, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1200 New York Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20005. All completed nominations must be received by August 1 for awards the following February.