Skip to main content

2003 Newcomb Cleveland Prize Recipients

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

Supported by Affymetrix

The 2003 Newcomb Cleveland Prize is awarded to the following authors:

  • Thomas A. Volpe, Catherine Kidner, Ira M. Hall, Grace Teng, Shiv I.S. Grewal and Robert A. Martienssen for the research article “Regulation of Heterochromatic Silencing and Histone H3 Lysine-9 Methylation by RNAi,” published 13 September 2002, pp. 1833-1837
  • Ira M. Hall, Gurumurthy D. Shankaranarayana, Ken-ichi Noma, Nabieh Ayoub, Amikam Cohen and Shiv I.S. Grewal for the research article “Establishment and Maintenance of a Heterochromatin Domain,” published 27 September 2002, pp. 2232-2236

The AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize acknowledges an outstanding paper published in the Research Articles or Reports sections of Science. This is the oldest and largest of the AAAS awards. It was established in 1923 with funds donated by Newcomb Cleveland of New York City. Beginning this year, additional support is provided by Affymetrix, Inc. Each recipient receives a bronze medal and a share of the $25,000 prize.

Please click here for a list of past recipients.