Skip to main content

2012 Newcomb Cleveland Prize Recipients

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

2012 Award Recipients

Supported by The Fodor Family Trust

The 2012 Newcomb Cleveland Prize is awarded to Vincent Mourik, Kun Zuo, Sergey M. Frolov, Sébastien R. Plissard, Erik P. A. M. Bakkers, and Leo P. Kouwenhoven for the report “Signatures of Majorana Fermions in Hybrid Superconductor-Semiconductor Nanowire Devices” published in Science 25 May 2012, pp. 1003-1007.

This paper provides experimental evidence for the presence of an exotic quasiparticle, the Majorana fermion. These particles, different from bosons and normal fermions that make up all matter, are equal to their own antiparticles. Such particles had only been predicted mathematically. Mourik et al. engineered a nanostructure of a superconductor in contact with a semiconductor wire that, when placed in a strong magnetic field, showed several features consistent with that predicted for the elusive Majorana state. Their results and approach have generated numerous follow-on experiments and work, and their design could allow for the manipulation of Majorana states, which, if verified, could lead to new types of quantum computing and other applications.

Read more about this research in an AAAS News article, Research Tracing Exotic Quasiparticles in Nanowires Wins the 2012 AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

The Association’s oldest award, the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize was established in 1923 with funds donated by Newcomb Cleveland of New York City. Now supported by The Fodor Family Trust, the Prize acknowledges an outstanding paper published in the Articles, Research Articles, or Reports sections ofScience. Each recipient receives a bronze medal and a share of the $25,000 prize.

Affymetrix Inc. added its support to the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize in 2003, helping to more than double the prize’s monetary value. Affymetrix Founder and Executive Chairman, Stephen P.A. Fodor, Ph.D., and his colleagues were awarded the Newcomb Cleveland Prize in 1991 for their landmark publication that first introduced microarray technology to the scientific community. (“Light-directed, spatially addressable parallel chemical synthesis,” with co-authors J. Read, M.C. Pirrung, L. Stryer, A. Lu, and D. Solas, Science 15 February 1991.)

“Receiving the Newcomb Cleveland Award in 1991 was the first important public acknowledgment of our invention,” said Fodor. “Today, the award remains one of our most valued. Affymetrix is thrilled to support its continued legacy. It is important to recognize and encourage the innovative work of new scientists as their work will become the foundation for future research and discovery.”

Affymetrix is a pioneer in creating breakthrough tools that are driving the genomic revolution. By applying the principles of semiconductor technology to the life sciences, Affymetrix develops and commercializes systems that enable scientists to improve quality of life. The company’s customers include pharmaceutical, biotechnology, agrichemical, diagnostics, and consumer products companies as well as academic, government, and non-profit research institutes. Affymetrix offers an expanding portfolio of integrated products and services to address growing markets focused on understanding the relationship between genes and human health. Affymetrix has about 1,000 employees worldwide.

Please click here for a list of past recipients.

Related Scientific Disciplines