Skip to main content

2005 Philip Hauge Abelson Prize Recipient

2005 Award Recipients

AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize


Norman R. Augustine

Norman R. Augustine is the recipient of the AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize. He is honored for his outstanding contributions to U.S. science and technology policy, his unrelenting work to maintain U.S. scientific and technological preeminence, and his initiatives to strengthen the scientific partnerships between academia, industry, and government.

The Philip Hauge Abelson Prize, established in 1985, is awarded either to a public servant, in recognition of sustained exceptional contributions to advancing science, or to a scientist whose career has been distinguished both for scientific achievement and for other notable services to the scientific community. The recipient receives $5,000 and a commemorative plaque.

Norman R. Augustine’s distinguished professional career spans 40 years and includes the full spectrum from U.S. government and nongovernmental organizations to industry and academia. As a public servant for 10 years, he served in the Pentagon’s Office of the Secretary of Defense as an assistant director of defense research and engineering. Later he was an assistant secretary of the U.S. Army, then under secretary, then acting secretary of the Army. Today he is a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Advisory Council.

As a captain of industry, Mr. Augustine has been chair and chief executive officer of Martin Marietta Corp., and president of Lockheed Martin Corp. upon its formation, rising to be its CEO and later chair. He is on the Board of Directors for Phillips Petroleum, Proctor & Gamble, Black and Decker, and Lockheed Martin. He also serves on the boards of many educational, philanthropic, and cultural organizations, and has been on advisory boards to universities, the White House, U.S. Senate, NATO, and federal agencies, including the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Federal Aviation Administration, General Accounting Office, and the U.S. Departments of Defense, Army, Navy, Air Force, Energy, Transportation, and Homeland Security.

After retiring from the industrial sector in 1997, he joined the faculty of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University. He has been a trustee of Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Princeton. He is a fellow of the IEEE, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Aeronautical Society, and the American Astronautical Society, and is a member of AAAS, New York Academy of Sciences, International Academy of Astronautics, and National Academy of Engineering, where he was chair for nine years. He also has been chair of the American Red Cross and president of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Mr. Augustine was chosen as one of Business Week’s “Top 25 Managers of 1996;” one of Board Alert’s Eight Outstanding Directors in Corporate America (2003); first among Defense Business’ 40 Leaders in Global Security and Aerospace; and one of “Fifty Great Americans” by the Library of Congress and Who’s Who in America. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in aeronautical engineering from Princeton and has 19 honorary degrees. Mr. Augustine’s many other honors include the National Medal of Technology and the U.S. Department of Defense’s highest civilian award, the Distinguished Service Medal, given to him five times. He is author or coauthor of dozens of articles and has written four books.

Please click here for a list of past recipients.