Skip to main content

Philip Hauge Abelson Prize Recipients

2021 Recipient

The 2021 recipient of the Abelson Prize is Anthony S. Fauci, a distinguished physician and immunologist who has made extraordinary contributions to science and medicine, and whose service to prevent, diagnose, and treat infectious diseases has helped shape research and public policy.

Past Recipients

Chad A. Mirkin, who was recognized for exceptional contributions to science and whose discoveries in nanoscience have spanned research, innovation, entrepreneurship, education, public understanding, national service and public policy.

Cato T. Laurencin, who was honored for his global leadership in biomedical technology innovation, public service in shaping United States technology policy and invaluable mentorship to a generation of minority scientists.

Arthur Bienenstock, was selected on the basis of his extraordinary contributions to science, promotion of diversity and inclusion in STEM, academic leadership, STEM education, U.S. science policy, and the public’s understanding of science.

Ioannis Miaoulis, was selected on the basis of his innovative and passionate contributions to science, and for his ability to educate and inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers, as well as his leadership in addressing the critical need for scientific and technological literacy.

Eric S. Lander, was recognized for advancing science in society through his “extraordinary contributions to science,” and for “his ability to explain science to the public and students,” as well as “his work bringing science to bear in serving the public.”

Bruce Alberts was recognized for advancing science in society through his "exemplary leadership and creativity in science and technology for the national welfare," for "inspiring young people to pursue distinguished careers in the sciences," and for "opening new frontiers in education and public policy."

Lewis M. Branscomb was selected on the basis of his prolific and distinguished career in science, technology, innovation, and policy; and for his achievements in academia, in business, in government, and as a philanthropist.

Anita K. Jones was selected on the basis of her outstanding scientific-technical achievements; her contributions as a mentor, inspiration, and role model for other scientists and engineers; and her lifetime of exemplary public service to government, professional institutions, academia, and industry.

Shirley Ann Jackson was selected on the basis of her extraordinary leadership of and contributions to the scientific community, government, universities, industries, and future generations of science and engineering professionals.

The Honorable Rush Holt was selected for his strong and sustained support of science and engineering and of their responsible use in addressing major societal concerns, both as a scientist and as a leading Member of Congress.

Francis S. Collins is recognized on the basis of his extraordinary skills as a scientist, as a spokesperson for the ethical and responsible use of science, as a communicator with the public and policy makers, and for his pioneering leadership of major, highly successful federal scientific initiatives.

Richard A. Meserve was selected on the basis of his exemplary career in advancing and promoting the use of science in the service of the public interest and for his exceptional contributions to the scientific community, to policymakers, and to the general public, both in the U.S. and abroad.

Burton Richter is recognized for his world-class contributions to research, his successful management of a leading scientific laboratory, and his unrelenting efforts to advance science and to promote its responsible use in shaping public policy.

Charles M. Vest is recognized for his effective leadership and outstanding contributions to the areas of public policy, university research, and education.

Norman R. Augustine is the recipient of the AAAS Philip Hauge Abelson Prize. He is honored for his outstanding contributions to U.S. science and technology policy, his unrelenting work to maintain U.S. scientific and technological preeminence, and his initiatives to strengthen the scientific partnerships between academia, industry, and government.

Maxine Frank Singer, honored for her scientific accomplishments, leadership in the establishment of scientific policy, substantial contributions to the improvement of math and science education, and efforts to raise awareness and understanding in matters of science globally and to increase the presence of women and minorities in the scientific community.

Norman P. Neureiter, honored for his substantial contributions in building more effective relationships between the diplomatic and the scientific communities and in increasing both communities’ awareness of the importance of science and its value in international statecraft.

The Honorable Vernon J. Ehlers, United States House of Representatives, honored for his consistent public service to science, science policy, and science education at all levels of government.

Norman E. Borlaug, Distinguished Professor of International Agriculture at Texas A&M University, and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize

Leon M. Lederman, Director Emeritus of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, and Pritzker Professor of Science at the Illinois Institute of Technology

Neal F. Lane, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; and Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Mary L. Good, Principal Member, Venture Capital Investors; and Donaghey University Professor, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Peter H. Raven, Director of the Missouri Botanical Garden

D. Allan Bromley, Sterling Professor of Science and Dean of Engineering, Yale University

William O. Baker, Chairman Emeritus of the Board, AT&T Bell Laboratories

Frank Press, Cecil and Ida Green Senior Fellow, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Harvey Brooks, Harvard University (emeritus)

John H. Gibbons, former Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, and former Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

For a complete listing of past Philip Hauge Abelson Prize recipients, please see the Archives.

For More Information

AAAS Office of Science, Policy and Society Programs
1200 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20005

Phone: 202-326-6600
Fax: 202-289-4950

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is committed to equal opportunity for all persons, without regard to race, color, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, or other protected categories. AAAS seeks as diverse a pool of award nominations as possible, including as well a wide range of disciplines, institutional types, and geographical locations.