Skip to main content

Poland – U.S. Science Award Nominations Open

Poland - US Science Award 2
First winners of the Poland-U.S. Science Award, Professor Mariusz Jaskolski of the Adam Mickiewicz University and Dr. Alexander Wlodawer of the National Cancer Institute | Credit: AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) are pleased to announce the opening call for nominations in the third edition of the Polish-American Scientific Award. The aim of the award is to strengthen and emphasize the benefits of cooperation between scientists in Poland and the United States. The award is presented to a pair of scientists — one working in Poland, the other in the USA — for outstanding scientific achievements resulting from their cooperation.

To be eligible for the award a scientist must be nominated. All active members of the Polish or American scientific community (including business R&D) can nominate a candidate. Self-nominations are also permitted. The award can be presented in all science disciplines, excluding the arts. Awardees each receive a sum of $5,000. Each nomination should refer jointly to a team of research collaborators, one member working in Poland and one member working in the United States, regardless of their nationality.

Nominations should contain the following information:

  • Acknowledgement of the joint scientific achievement made by collaborations between the two candidates in the sense of the award
  • Curricula vitae of both scientists and a list of publications relevant to the joint achievement
  • One letter of support for the nominees (in case of self-nominations-two) - the author of which should not be the nominator nor the nominees.
Poland - US Science Award 3
Professor Ryszard Kierzek & Prof. Douglas H. Turner | Credit: Private Archive

If you submitted a nomination during the previous award cycle and would like to have the nomination re-considered again, please notify us. Any additional/updated materials may also be sent. Nominations should be submitted in English via email by December 31, 2017 to one of the following addresses:

The American Association for the Advancement of Science: email    
The Foundation for Polish Science:

The contest is carried out by a joint committee of AAAS and FNP including external members. The results of the third edition will be announced in 2018. Because of the rotational nature of the award, the coming edition will be presented in Washington DC, in the fall 2018.

The first winners of the Poland–U.S. Science Award were world-renowned scientists - Prof. Mariusz Jaskólski of Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland, and Dr. Alexander Wlodawer of the National Cancer Institute, USA. The Jaskólski - Wlodawer team received it for structural studies on proteins of medical relevance, which have contributed to the development of new therapies to cure human diseases, such as AIDS or leukemia in children.

In 2016 the competition won Prof. Ryszard Kierzek from the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry Polish Academy of Sciences in Poznań and Prof. Douglas Turner from the University of Rochester. Because of their scientific work, it has become possible to predict the structure of any RNA based on its sequence. Their research also elucidated RNA folding rules and the use of modified oligonucleotides to modulate biological activity of photogenic RNAs. 

For more information please contact:

Justyna Motrenko at FNP: +48 22 845 95 32
Hend Ghobrial at AAAS: +1.202.326.6655