Skip to main content

AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy

Center for Science Diplomacy
Executive Office

Submit your nominations via email by sending the nomination packet to 

The Center for Science Diplomacy will accept nominations for the 2021 award from April 15 through June 30, 2020.

The AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy recognizes an individual or a limited number of individuals working together in the scientific and engineering or foreign affairs communities making an outstanding contribution to furthering science diplomacy. The Award is presented each year at the AAAS Annual Meeting.

Winners of the AAAS Science Diplomacy Award receive:

  • Monetary prize of $5,000
  • Commemorative plaque
  • Complimentary registration for the AAAS Annual Meeting
  • Reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting
  • Chance to publish in Science & Diplomacy about his or her achievements.


Dr. Exequiel Ezcurra receiving the 2020 award.
AAAS CEO Sudip Parikh grants 2020 Award for Science Diplomacy to Dr. Exequiel Ezcurra. Credit: Robb Cohen Photography & Video.


Required documentation includes: 

  • Nominator's name and contact information (including email, address, and phone number)
  • Nominee's name and title, institutional affiliation, and contact information (email, address, and phone number)
  • A summary of the accomplishment(s) that form the basis for the nomination (about 250 words)
  • A longer statement (not to exceed three pages) providing additional details of the accomplishment(s) for which the individual/group is nominated
  • A CV (three-page maximum) for the nominee
  • One letter of support (for self-nominations we request two letters, which should be emailed separately by the letter writer)
  • Optional: Documentation (books, articles, or other materials) that illuminates the significance of the nominee's achievement may also be submitted.

Past recipients have contributed in many different ways to the advancement of science diplomacy. 

Nomination materials must be received in English; all materials become the property of AAAS. The award is open to all regardless of nationality or citizenship. Nominees must be living at the time of their nomination. Any individual or small group in the scientific or foreign policy community that has contributed to the role of science cooperation in building stronger links between and among societies is eligible for the AAAS Science Diplomacy Award.
Submit your nominations via email by sending the nomination packet to 


The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is committed to equal opportunity for all persons, without regard to race, color, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, or other protected categories. AAAS seeks as diverse a pool of award nominations as possible, including a wide range of disciplines, institutional types, and geographic locations.


All award winners are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics* and scientific integrity.

* Breaches of professional ethics might include sexual misconduct, racial discrimination, or other ethical violations. Sexual harassment or retaliation for declining, objecting to, or reporting harassment or other sexual conduct may constitute a serious breach of professional ethics.



Postal Address:
AAAS Center for Science Diplomacy | 1200 New York Ave. NW | Washington, D.C. 20005 | United States

Related Focus Areas

Related Scientific Disciplines