Skip to main content

Life sciences/Biochemistry

Four early-career chemists have been awarded funding to kickstart their research, ranging from biochemistry to polymers, thanks to a fund created to advance women in the chemical sciences.



The program is open to qualified institutions in the United States and Puerto Rico that offer an American Chemical Society-approved program in chemistry and confer 10 or fewer graduate degrees annually in biology and chemistry combined. Public and private primarily undergraduate colleges and universities, which met all of the following criteria, are eligible to compete.

  • Not be a 2006, 2005, or 2004 Merck/AAAS USRP award recipient
  • Located in one of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or Puerto Rico
  • Not-for-profit entity as defined by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service Tax Code under section 501(c)(3)
  • Offer an American Chemical Society-approved BA/BS chemistry program
  • Confer an average of ten or fewer graduate degrees annually over the past five years in biology and chemistry combined

Award Selection
Each application is reviewed and rated by an independent panel of scientists and educators chosen by AAAS. The panel recommends award selections to The Merck Company Foundation. Award selection criteria are listed in the application.

If you have further questions or require additional information, contact the program representative at

Deadline for Receipt: 5:00pm, Friday, 3 November 2006



Merck and AAAS congratulates this year's award recipients and commend their dedication to providing research experiences in chemistry and biology for undergraduate students.

  • Appalachian State University
  • Drew University
  • Lewis & Clark College
  • Loyola Marymount University
  • Macalester College
  • Simmons College
  • State University of New York at Oswego
  • Swarthmore College
  • SUNY College at Brockport
  • Trinity University
  • University of Illinois at Springfield

Please click here for a short list of funded projects and grant recipients for the years 2001-2005.