Skip to main content

Life sciences/Biophysics/Molecular physiology

Linda Sealy, director of the Initiative for Maximizing Student Diversity at Vanderbilt University, has been selected to receive the 2018 Lifetime Mentor Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

BMENA Bioscience Forum – Members of Interim Executive Committee

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is pleased to announce the creation of the BMENA Bioscience Forum, and its Interim Executive Committee, forum that resulted from a workshop series funded by the U.S. Department of State and held in the broader Middle East and North Africa (BMENA) region.

Nobel laureate Phillip A. Sharp, institute professor at the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT, has been chosen to serve as president-elect of AAAS. He will begin his one-year term as president in February 2013, at the close of the 179th AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

Researchers have discovered a molecule responsible for triggering the inflammatory pain of sunburn caused by the sun’s UVB rays, reports a new study in the 6 July issue of Science Translational Medicine.

The molecule—part of a family of proteins called chemokines—works by activating nerve fibers to cause pain and tenderness. The findings could lead to drugs that block the activity of this molecule, called CXCL5, to reduce or stop pain in sunburned skin.