Skip to main content

Physical sciences/Earth sciences/Oceanography/Marine ecology

Former AAAS President James McCarthy is one of two recipients of the renowned 2018 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement for his work to understand and communicate the effects of climate change.
Melissa Kenney, 2010-12 Executive Branch Fellow now at University of Maryland, worked with 200+ scientists over the past four years on a groundbreaking set of climate change indicators designed to communicate how the environment is changing, spotlight risks, and inform decision-making on policy, planning, and resource management.
Science, technology, and policy can help address new challenges and opportunities presented by Arctic melting, experts said at the AAAS Forum on Science & Technology Policy.