Skip to main content

Scientific community/Science careers

The Eppendorf & Science Prize for Neurobiology acknowledges outstanding contributions to neurobiology research based on the methods of molecular and cell biology.

The Science Prize for Online Resources in Education (SPORE) has been established to encourage innovation and excellence in education, as well as to encourage the use of high-quality on-line resources by students, teachers, and the public.

The Science Prize for Inquiry-Based Instruction (IBI) has been established to encourage innovation and excellence in education by recognizing outstanding, inquiry-based science and design-based engineering education modules. This type of education is a form of active learning wherein the instructor provides a question, or a challenge, and a general set of procedures that can be used to answer it. The students then produce an explanation or answer that is based on the evidence that they collect from appropriate resource materials or experimental processes that are, at least in part, of the students own proposal. Essays from the IBI winners are published each month in Science.

Data Stories winners will be featured on the Science website and shared with millions of followers on Science social media. 

The Science & PINS Prize for Neuromodulation is a highly competitive prize which honors scientists for their excellent contributions to neuromodulation research. Neuromodulation is any form of alteration of nerve activity through the delivery of physical (electrical, magnetic, optical) stimulation or chemical agents to targeted sites of the body. Established in 2016, the prize is awarded annually for outstanding research as described in a 1,500 word essay based on research performed in the past three years.

This essay competition was created to inspire students to explore connections between human rights and science, engineering and the health professions. Students may write on any topic at the intersection of science and/or technology with human rights.

This annual award, funded by an endowment established through a generous bequest from Martin L. Wachtel, honors early-career investigators who have performed outstanding work in the field of cancer research. Entrants must have received their Ph.D. or M.D. within the last 10 years. The award winner(s) are invited to deliver a public lecture on their research and receive a cash award of $25,000. The award-winning essay(s) will be published in Science Translational Medicine.

The Marion Milligan Mason Awards, funded by the Marion Milligan Mason fund, are designed to support Women in the Chemical Sciences to kickstart the research career of promising future senior investigators in the chemical sciences. The Marion Milligan Mason Fund provides four grants of $50,000 every other year to women researchers engaged in basic research in the chemical sciences. Awards are for women who are starting their academic research careers. In addition to research funding, the program provides leadership development and mentoring opportunities.

Lab to Launch is a new D.C. science and technology entrepreneurship competition created by the American Association for the Advancement of Science's Research Competitiveness Program. AAAS created Lab to Launch to identify and support promising D.C. technology innovators by providing training, networking opportunities, and seed capital prizes.

The AAAS Community Engagement Fellows Program will provide training, peer support, and a shared knowledge base for Fellows. Training will include a week-long introductory course, followed by monthly webinars and mid-year and end-of-year meetings.