Skip to main content

Scientific community/Science communication/Science journalism

2020 AAAS Mass Media Science & Engineering Fellows

The program, established in 1945, honors distinguished reporting for a general audience and — thanks to a generous endowment by The Kavli Foundation — has been global since 2015.

Strong local reporting on the status of Puget Sound’s killer whales, the degradation of soils in a region of France, air quality in Utah, and the impact of an Idaho nuclear research facility are among the winning entries for the 2019 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

As public perceptions on climate change evolve, journalists have a vital role in describing potential solutions, said science correspondent Miles O’Brien at an Oct. 24 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism award lecture at the University of Missouri.

Scientists reflect on their experiences working in fast-paced newsrooms as 2019 AAAS Mass Media Science & Engineering Fellows.

The chemist, entrepreneur and former provost of Washington University in St. Louis has been named the 21st editor-in-chief of Science. His term will begin on October 28, 2019.