Skip to main content

Scientific community/Scientific approaches/Basic research

Three groups of researchers have been recognized with the 2022 Golden Goose Award, which honors federally funded research that unexpectedly benefits society.

Three teams of scientists have received the 2021 Golden Goose Award, which recognizes federally funded research that may sound unusual but has ultimately produced great societal benefits.

This guide features sessions led by STPF fellows and/or related to science in policy and science communication. STPF looks forward to seeing you at the AAAS Annual Meeting!

Join us for the Marion Milligan Mason Awards for Women in the Chemical Sciences ceremony and reception. Funded by the Marion Milligan Mason Fund, the Awards are designed to kick start the research efforts of early-career professional women in the chemical sciences. The 2019 awardees will share the extraordinary contributions they have made through their research programs and demonstrate a commitment to move their fields forward.

The event will feature presentations by the awardees followed by a reception.

2019 Marion Milligan Mason Awardees

Vivian Ferry, PhD, is an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. 

Susan Fullerton Shirey, PhD, is an Assistant Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh. 

Lilian Hsiao, PhD, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State University. 

Heather J. Kulik, PhD, is an Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. 

Corinna Schindler, PhD, is an Assistant Professor of Chemistry in College of Literature, Science and the Arts at the University of Michigan. 

Legislators also created a rapid response fund for emerging disease outbreaks while providing NIH, DARPA with funding increases.