Elected Fellows

Fellowship Rosette

A member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups.

Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor and all Fellows are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Search for Fellows

Current members of AAAS who are also Fellows can be found by using the search boxes below.

Please note: This database only lists previously elected Fellows who remain active members of the Association. It is not a comprehensive list of all Fellows. If you do not see a name and would like to verify Fellow status, please contact the Executive Office by phone, 202-326-7030 or fellownomination@aaas.org.

Name Year Elected State/Province Country Primary Sectionsort descending Institutional Affiliation
Spero, Howard 2012 CA United States Univ of Cal Davis
DeWald, Daryll 2012 WA United States
Goodman, Steven 2016 TN United States University of Tennessee Health Sci Cente
Cortese, Anthony 1997 MA United States
Klinzing, George 2007 PA United States
Devos, Katrien 2016 GA United States Univ of Georgia
Polk, David 2016 CA United States Childrens Hosp Los Angeles Ms #126
Wise, Sherwood 1985 FL United States
Mix, Alan 2016 OR United States
Tesmer, John 2013 MI United States
Balmain, Allan 2013 CA United States
Hersam, M 2014 IL United States Northwestern Univ
Bose, Susmita 2016 WA United States Washington State University
Poodry, Clifton 2016 MD United States
Liu, Jie 2012 NC United States Duke University
Anvari, Bahman 2010 CA United States Univ of Calif Riverside
Rogers, Robin 2011 QC Canada
Iverson, Brent 2011 TX United States University of Texas at Austin
Jacobson, Theodore 2012 MD United States
Stump, B 2014 TX United States Southern Methodist Univ
Rath, Bhakta 2011 DC United States Naval Research Laboratory
Kataoka, Tohru 1932 Japan Kobe Univ School of Medicine
Stixrude, Lars 2006 United Kingdom University College London
Hewett, Joanne 2009 CA United States Theory Grp Ms81
Zhuang, Yuan 2013 NC United States Duke Univ Med Ctr