Elected Fellows

Fellowship Rosette

A member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public. Fellows are elected annually by the AAAS Council from the list of approved nominations from the Section Steering Groups.

Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor and all Fellows are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

Search for Fellows

Current members of AAAS who are also Fellows can be found by using the search boxes below.

Please note: This database only lists previously elected Fellows who remain active members of the Association. It is not a comprehensive list of all Fellows. If you do not see a name and would like to verify Fellow status, please contact the Executive Office by phone, 202-326-7030 or fellownomination@aaas.org.

Name Year Elected State/Provincesort descending Country Primary Section Institutional Affiliation
Ryan, John 2010 Ireland Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources (Section O)
Naidu, Ravendra 2012 Australia Chemistry (Section C)
Prance, Ghillean 1990 United Kingdom Biological Sciences (Section G) The Old Vicarage
Wagner, Andreas 2010 Switzerland Biological Sciences (Section G) Univ of Zurich
Li, Jun 2010 China Chemistry (Section C) Tsinghua University
Hausen, Harald Zur 2017 Germany German Cancer Research Ctr
Plass, Christoph 2005 Germany Biological Sciences (Section G) German Cancer Res Ctr Div Dc010
Kemp, Bruce 2006 Australia Medical Sciences (Section N) St Vincent's Institute
Kwok, S 2012 Hong Kong The University of Hong Kong
Edgar, Bruce 2012 Germany Biological Sciences (Section G) University of Utah
Balasubramanian, D 1996 India Biological Sciences (Section G)
Vliegenthart, J 2017 Netherlands Chemistry (Section C) Bijvoet Center
Nitzan, Abraham 2003 Israel Chemistry (Section C) University of Pennsylvania
Delacote, Goery 2006 France Physics (Section B)
Trewhella, Jill 1999 Australia Biological Sciences (Section G)
Vousden, K H 2013 United Kingdom Biological Sciences (Section G) The Francis Crick Institute
Leung, Frederick 2009 Hong Kong Biological Sciences (Section G) Univ Hong Kong
Spier, R 2000 United Kingdom Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering (Section X)
Gahmberg, C 1932 Finland Biosciences
Kosower, Edward 1989 Israel Chemistry (Section C) Tel Aviv University
Bernstein, Joel 1999 Israel Chemistry (Section C) Ben Gurion Univ
Prakash Singh, Ravi 2015 Mexico
Rajaram, Sanjaya 2012 Mexico Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources (Section O) Resource Seeds International
Batlogg, Bertram J 2000 Switzerland Physics (Section B) Eth Zurich
Aki Haga, Masa 2015 Japan Chemistry (Section C) Chuo Univ