07 May

14th Annual Barnard Lecture with Dr. Rosina Bierbaum

07 May 2014
6:00 pm to 8:00 pm
AAAS Auditorium
This event is free and open to the public.

The Robert C. Barnard Environmental Lecture provides an annual forum for an outstanding speaker to address current environmental issues. The lectureship is endowed by the international law firm of Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton to honor Mr. Barnard, who had been counsel to the firm, for his contributions to environmental and public health law and in recognition of his many years of service as a member of the selection committee for the fellowships at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Coping with Climate Change:An Imperative for Development"

Dr. Rosina BierbaumWe are pleased to announce that the Robert C. Barnard Environmental Lecture will be presented by S&T Policy Fellowships alumna Rosina M. Bierbaum,1980-81 Fellow in the Office of Technology Assessment. Dr. Bierbaum is a Professor and Dean Emerita at the University of Michigan with appointments in both the School of Natural Resources and Environment, and the School of Public Health.

Her experience extends from climate science to international development. She chairs the Scientific and Advisory Panel of the Global Environment Facility, serves on President Obama's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology, is a lead author of the U.S. National Climate Assessment, and an Adaptation Fellow at the World Bank. Bierbaum served for two decades in both the legislative and executive branches of the U.S. Government, and ran the first Environment Division of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). She was selected by the World Bank to co-direct its prestigious World Development Report 2010, which focused on climate change and development.

Bierbaum is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Ecological Society of America, received the American Geophysical Union's Waldo Smith award, and EPA's Climate Protection Award. She serves on the boards of the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, the Wildlife Conservation Society, the Federation of American Scientists, the Environmental and Energy Study Institute, and the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement.