Skip to main content

2014 Forum on Science and Technology Policy

1300 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington, DC

The annual AAAS Forum on Science and Technology Policy is the conference for people interested in public policy issues facing the science, engineering, and higher education communities. Since 1976, it has been the place where insiders go to learn what is happening and what is likely to happen in the coming year on the federal budget and the growing number of policy issues that affect researchers and their institutions. Come to the Forum, learn about the future of S&T policy, and meet the people who will shape it.

Who Should Attend?

Scientists and engineers, research administrators, industrial R&D managers, policymakers, association officials, federal grant recipients, students, science diplomats, government affairs specialists, public affairs officers, science writers, and others with an interest in the intersection of policy with science and technology.

Session Topics

  • Budgetary and Policy Context for R&D in FY 2015
  • A Conversation with the President’s Science Advisor
  • AAAS Overview of R&D in the FY 2015 Proposed Budget
  • Innovation - The Global Frontier
  • Measuring the Impacts of Science
  • Synergy in STEM + Arts: Catalyzing US Innovation and Competitiveness
  • Making Science Matter: Strengthening Engagement of Scientists & Engineers in the Policy Process
  • US Leadership in the Artic Council: International Science Cooperation
  • William D. Carey Lecture - Reflections on US Science & Technology Policy
  • Reproducibility in Science
  • Emerging Technologies & National Security


  • Raymond V. Arnaudo, AAAS Center for Science Diplomacy
  • Norm Augustine, Former Chief Executive Officer, Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • Kavita Berger, AAAS Center for Science, Technology and Security Policy
  • Honorable Suzanne Bonamici, U.S. House of Representatives (OR-1)
  • Samuel Brinton, Massachusetts Institute of Tecnology
  • Chad English, COMPASS
  • John Farrell, United States Arctic Research Commission
  • Robert Golub, JAMA
  • Sharon Hays, CSC
  • David Hik, University of Alberta
  • J. Britt Holbrook, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • John P. Holdren, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Margaret Honey, New York Hall of Science
  • Matthew Hourihan, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Kaye Husbands Fealing, University of Minnesota
  • Katrina Kelner, Science Translational Medicine
  • Brendan P. Kelly, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Ariella Kelman, Genentech
  • Margaret E. Kosal, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Story Landis, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH
  • Jason Lee, Federal Bureau of Investigation
  • Cora Marrett, National Science Foundation
  • Cherry A. Murray, Harvard University
  • Gunalan Nadarajan, University of Michigan
  • Brian Nosek, University of Virginia
  • Bill O'Brien, National Endowment for the Arts
  • Gil Omenn, University of Michigan
  • Pallavi Phartiyal, Union of Concerned Scientists
  • John Podesta, Counselor to the President of the United States
  • Cynthia Robinson, AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowships
  • Anthony (Bud) Rock, Association of Science-Technology Centers Incorporated
  • Joseph Romm, Chief Science Editor, Years of Living Dangerously
  • Javier Saade, Small Business Administration
  • Robert Schwartz, GE Healthcare
  • Francis Slakey, Georgetown University
  • Tobin Smith, Association of American Universities
  • Mike Taylor, Elsevier Labs
  • Abigail Walton, Antioch University
  • Harry West, Prophet
  • Samantha White, Emerging Leaders in Science & Society

Related Scientific Disciplines