Skip to main content

2015 Forum on Science and Technology Policy

, Washington D.C.,

Be part of the discussion of the future of science and technology policy with leaders in the field.  

The annual AAAS Forum on Science and Technology Policy is the conference for people interested in public policy issues facing the science, engineering, and higher education communities. It is the place where insiders go to learn what is happening and what is likely to happen in the coming year on the federal budget and the growing number of policy issues that affect researchers and their institutions. Come to the Forum, learn about the future of S&T policy, and engage with the people who will shape it. 

Who should attend? 

Scientists and engineers, research administrators, industrial R&D managers, policymakers, association officials, federal grant recipients, students, science diplomats, government affairs specialists, public affairs officers, science writers, and others with an interest in the intersection of policy with science and technology.

Session topics:

  • Budgetary and Policy Context for R&D in FY 2016 
  • National and International Issues in Science and Technology
  • Inaugural Gilbert S. Omenn Grand Challenges Address   
  • Toward a Scientific Approach to Science Policy 
  • Public Opinion and Policy Making  
  • The William D. Carey Lecture - Science to Action: Thoughts on Convincing a Skeptical Public
  • Creativity, Invention, and the Innovation Ecosystem  
  • Oddball Science: What to Do?


  • Mrim Boutla, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, More Than Money Careers
  • Larry Burns, Vice President Emeritus, General Motors
  • France A. Córdova, Director, National Science Foundation
  • Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz, Scientific Director, Sao Paulo Research Foundation
  • Christian Ehler, Member, European Parliament
  • Cary Funk, Associate Director, Pew Research Center
  • Chih-Kung Lee, Distinguished Professor, Institute of Applied Mechanics, and Distinguished Professor, Department of Engineering Science and Ocean Engineering, National Taiwan University
  • John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; and Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Roberta Ness, Vice President for Innovation, The University of Texas School of Public Health
  • William H. Press, Warren J. and Viola M. Raymer Professor in Computer Science and in Integrative Biology, University of Texas at Austin; and Vice-Chair, President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology
  • Flavia Schlegel, Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
  • David Scholnick, Professor of Biology, Pacific University of Oregon
  • Carrie Wolinetz, Associate Director for Science Policy, National Institutes of Health