Skip to main content

Call for Nominations: William D. Carey Lecture

Nominate a Candidate for the William D. Carey Lecture

AAAS is soliciting nominations of candidates for the annual William D. Carey Lecture, which is delivered at the AAAS Forum on Science and Technology Policy, scheduled for May 7-8, 2020, in Washington, DC.

The Lectureship was established in honor of Bill Carey upon his retirement as the Executive Officer of AAAS in 1987.  The Lectureship recognizes individuals who in their own way exemplify Mr. Carey's leadership in articulating public policy issues engendered by the application of science and technology.  The Lecturer is chosen by a selection committee from the nominations received and carries a honorarium of $5,000 and an engraved medallion.

If you know of someone who deserves consideration for this honor, please send their name, title, and a few sentences outlining their background and qualifications to Nicolle Rutledge at AAAS (, no later than C.O.B., Wednesday, February 12. The deadline for receiving nominations is firm.

Recent Carey Lecturers:

  • 2019: Ernest J. Moniz: Energy Technology Innovation and the Green Real Deal
  • 2018: Arati Prabhakar: A Better Tomorrow: Renewing R&D’s Promise to America
  • 2017: Senator Chris Coons: Defending Science and Catalyzing Progress: A Bipartisan Formula for the Future
  • 2016: Kathryn D. Sullivan: Science and Society in the 21st Century
  • 2015: William H. Press: Science to Action: Thoughts on Convincing a Skeptical Public

View full list of past recipients.


Nomination Deadline: February 12, 2020.

Event Contact

Nicolle Rutledge

Manager, Programs Operations and Administration

Related Focus Areas