Skip to main content

Science Diplomacy 2015: Scientific Drivers for Diplomacy

1200 New York Avenue NW, Washington, DC

The emergence of science diplomacy as an active area of study and policy consideration has increased its use and users. Concepts such as the role of large-scale infrastructures in science diplomacy and the mechanisms for scientific cooperation needed in undertaking science diplomacy have become recognized as important to bridging the scientific and foreign policy communities. At the same time, different scientific disciplines have unique contributions and needs as their international efforts become more intertwined with those of the foreign policy and diplomatic communities. The AAAS Center for Science Diplomacy will host a one-day conference that will build not only on the policy issues that have been discussed in previous conferences and workshops but critically address the scientific drivers for diplomacy. Sessions, organized by experts, will focus on the following themes: institutions and networks; scientific cooperation during political strain; cross-cutting areas of transboundary issues and shared scientific resources; and diplomacy needs and impact of the earth and environmental sciences, health and biomedical sciences, and physical sciences.

Please note, this event immediately precedes the AAAS Forum on Science & Technology Policy

Space is limited. Please register


8:00 Registration and Breakfast
9:00 Plenary

Rush Holt, CEO of AAAS
Flavia Schlegel, Assistant Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

10:00   Break
10:30  Theme Sessions

Earth and Environmental Sciences
Chair – Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service
Rita Colwell, University of Maryland
Thomas Lovejoy, George Mason University
Robert Megginson, University of Michigan


Bio and Health
Chair – Jason Rao, American Society for Microbiology
John Allen, Yale University
Gail Cassell, IDRI and Harvard University 
Valery N. Danilenko, Vavilov Institute of General Genetics
Dmitry Maslov, Vavilov Institute of General Genetics
Mark Rasenick, University of Illinois at Chicago


Chair – E. William Colglazier, AAAS
E. Ercan Alp, Argonne National Laboratory
Amy Flatten, American Physical Society
Patricia McBride, Fermilab
Ethan Schreier, Associated Universities, Inc. and Johns Hopkins University

12:30 Lunch (provided)
2:00 Theme Sessions

Transboundary and Shared Resources
Chair – Paul Berkman, University of California, Santa Barbara, and University of Cambridge
David Balton, U.S. Department of State
Tim Dye, University of Rochester.
Kristina Gjerde, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey


Institutions and Networks
Chair – Marga Gual Soler, AAAS
Zafra Lerman, Malta Conferences Foundation
Romain Murenzi, The World Academy of Sciences
Maria Uhle, National Science Foundation


Cooperation During Political Strain
Chair – Frances Colón, U.S. Department of State
James Hammond, Imperial College London
Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service
Sergio Pastrana, Academy of Sciences of Cuba

4:00 Break
4:30 Wrap-up Plenary


Program Steering Committee

Vaughan Turekian (chair), AAAS
Paul Berkman, University of California, Santa Barbara, and University of Cambridge
Cathleen Campbell, CRDF Global
E. William Colglazier, AAAS
Gary Machlis, Clemson University and U.S. National Park Service
Jason Rao, American Society for Microbiology
Tom Wang, AAAS