Skip to main content

Senior scientists volunteer program annual meeting

, ,

The AAAS/SSE STEM Volunteer Program invites you to its annual meeting and featured presentation on the development and implementation of the new K-12 science standards.

Panelists are: Dr. Heidi Schweingruber, co-director of the Committee on a Conceptual Framework for New K-12 Science Education Standards at the Board on Science Education at the National Academy of Sciences; Dr. Stephen Pruitt, coordinator of the work of the states to write the standards (based on the Conceptual Framework) at Achieve, Inc.; and Anita O'Neill, Supervisor, Pre-K-12 Science and Engineering at the Montgomery County (MD) Public Schools. Dr. Shirley Malcom, head of AAAS Education and Human Resources, will facilitate a discussion with the panel and audience.

A second presentation by AAAS/SSE STEM volunteers and their teacher partners will describe their ongoing work at area K-12 schools.

The event will take place at AAAS, 1200 New York Avenue NW, on May 17 from 4:00—6:30 p.m. ET in the 2nd floor auditorium.

For questions or to RSVP by May 11, contact Betty Calinger: