Skip to main content

AAAS Honorary Fellows

Fellowship rosette

AAAS Fellows are a distinguished cadre of scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their achievements across disciplines, from research, teaching, and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public.

In a tradition stretching back to 1874, these individuals are elected annually by the AAAS Council. Newly elected Fellows are recognized for their extraordinary achievements at the ceremonial Fellows Forum, a time-honored event at the AAAS Annual Meeting where they are presented with a certificate and blue and gold rosette.    

Eligible nominees are members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who have been a continuous AAAS member for at least four years leading up to the year of nomination. Fellows have included Thomas Edison, W.E.B DuBois, Maria Mitchell, Steven Chu, Ellen Ochoa and Irwin M. Jacobs.  

Election as an AAAS Fellow is a lifetime honor and all Fellows are expected to meet the commonly held standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

The 2022 class of AAAS Fellows was announced in January 2023. View the full list of 2022 Fellows.


Pictured left to right: Irwin M. Jacobs, Ellen Ochoa, Steven Chu, Maria Mitchell, W.E.B. DuBois, Thomas Edison

Search Fellows

The current fellows directory includes current members of AAAS who are also Fellows.

The historical fellows directory includes all AAAS Fellows.