Skip to main content

Organization and Governance


Staff Leadership

Members of the AAAS Leadership team.

View the current AAAS Leadership



Board of Directors

2024 Officers

A headshot of Gilda A. Barabino

Gilda A. Barabino

Chair, AAAS Board of Directors

Olin College of Engineering

Keith Yamamoto

Keith Yamamoto

AAAS Immediate Past President

University of California, San Francisco

Willie May

Willie E. May

AAAS President

Morgan State University

Theresa Maldonado

Theresa Maldonado

AAAS President-Elect

University of California Office of the President

Carolyn Ainslie

AAAS Treasurer

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Sudip Parikh headshot

Sudip Parikh

Chief Executive Officer and Executive Publisher, Science Journals

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Other Members


Janine Austin Clayton

(2021 - 2024)

Office of Research on Women’s Health/NIH (Dr. Clayton is serving in her personal capacity)

Joseph Francisco

Joseph Francisco


University of Pennsylvania

Kaye Husbands Fealing

Kaye Husbands Fealing

(2017 - 2024)

Georgia Institute of Technology

Headshot of Kathleen Hall Jamieson

Kathleen Hall Jamieson


University of Pennsylvania

Jane Maienschein

Jane Maienschein


Arizona State University

A picture of Juan S. Ramírez Lugo

Juan S. Ramírez Lugo


University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras

Susan M. Rosenberg

Susan M. Rosenberg


Baylor College of Medicine

Betty Smocovitis

Vassiliki Betty Smocovitis


University of Florida

*Members appointed by the elected officers and members of the Board, pursuant to Article VIII, Section 2 of the AAAS Constitution.

AAAS Leadership