Skip to main content

Council Members

The Council, the member-elected governing body of AAAS, comprises one elected member per Section, four at-large member seats, the AAAS President and President-elect, and the AAAS CEO. The Council’s responsibilities include election of Fellows, adoption of resolutions and statements on matters affecting the Association, election of affiliates, and approving amendments to the Bylaws.

Council Chair

Pending Council Vote

AAAS CEO, President, and President-Elect

Sudip Parikh
AAAS Chief Executive Officer

Willie E. May
AAAS President
Morgan State University

Theresa A. Maldonado
AAAS President-elect
University of California Office of the President

Members of the Council

Deborah Allen (Section Q)
University of Delaware (Retired)

Avery August (Section N)
Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine

Christopher B. Barrett (Section K)
Cornell University

Allan Basbaum (Section V)
University of California - San Francisco

Bryan W. Brooks (Section O)
Baylor University - Waco, TX

Roxane (Roxy) Cohen Silver (Section J)
University of California, Irvine

Steven M. Cramer (Section M)
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Enrique M. De La Cruz (Section G)
Yale School of Medicine

Nathaniel J. Dominy (Section H)
Dartmouth College

Josée Dupuis (Section U)
McGill University

William Douglas Gropp (Section T)
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Barbara A. Jones (Section P)
IBM Quantum

Barbara Lee Keyfitz (Section A)
The Ohio State University

Marilee Long (Section Y)
Colorado State University

Robert Mathieu (Section D)
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Ichiro Nishimura (Section R)

John L. Nitiss (Section S)
University of Illinois at Chicago

Carolyn Olson (Section E)
United States Geological Survey

Robert Tatnall Pennock (Section L)
Michigan State University

Eric Potsdam (Section Z)
University of Florida

Laura J. Pyrak-Nolte (Section B)
Purdue University

Sarah M. Rovito (Section X)
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

Roger M. Wakimoto (Section W)

Angela K. Wilson (Section C)
Michigan State University

At-Large Council Members

Steven Mana'oakamai Johnson
Cornell University

Manu Platt
National Institutes of Health

Sayane Shome
Stanford University School of Medicine

Council Executive Committee (CEC)

Pending Council Vote

Related Scientific Disciplines