Skip to main content

Astronomy (Section D)

SECTION STEERING GROUP
The section steering group comprises the secretary, chair line and members-at-large.

Chair

Dennis Zaritsky (2020)
University of Arizona
dennis_zaritsky@yahoo.com

Retiring Chair

Bradley M. Peterson (2020)
Ohio State University
peterson.12@osu.edu

Chair- Elect

Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy
hbhammel@aura-astronomy.org

Secretary

Saeqa Dil Vrtilek (2022)
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
svrtilek@cfa.harvard.edu

Members-at-Large

Steven D. Kawaler (2020)
Iowa State University
sdkiastate@gmail.com

Joan Centrella (2021)
National Aeronautics and Space Administration
joan.m.centrella@nasa.gov

Lynne A. Hillenbrand (2022)
California Institute of Technology
lah@astro.caltech.edu

Nancy A. Levenson (2023)
Space Telescope Science Institute
nlevenson@stsci.edu

COUNCIL DELEGATE

Joan R.Najita (2022)
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
najita@noao.edu

ELECTORATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (ENC)

Bradley M. Peterson (2020)
Ohio State University

Eileen D. Friel (2020)
Indiana University
efriel@indiana.edu

Chris Impey (2020)
University of Arizona
cimpey@as.arizona.edu

Karen Meech (2021)
University of Hawaii
meech@ifa.hawaii.edu

Alison Coil (2021 - ENC Chair)
University of California, San Diego
acoil@ucsd.edu

Lucy McFadden (2022)
NASA (Retired)
lucy.mcfadden@verizon.net

Jill Tarter (2022)
SETI Institute
tarter@seti.org

Note: Terms end on the last day of the Annual Meeting held in the year given in parentheses.