Skip to main content

Astronomy (Section D)

SECTION STEERING GROUP
The section steering group comprises the secretary, chair line and members-at-large.

Chair

Anneila I. Sargent (2022)
California Institute of Technology
afs@caltech.edu

Retiring Chair

Heidi Hammel (2022)
Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy
hbhammel@aura-astronomy.org

Secretary

Saeqa Dil Vrtilek (2022)
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
svrtilek@cfa.harvard.edu

Members-at-Large

Lynne A. Hillenbrand (2022)
California Institute of Technology
lah@astro.caltech.edu

Nancy A. Levenson (2023)
Space Telescope Science Institute
nlevenson@stsci.edu

Kelly Holley-Bockelmann (2024)
Vanderbilt University
k.holley@vanderbilt.edu

COUNCIL DELEGATE

Joan R. Najita (2022)
National Optical Astronomy Observatory
najita@noao.edu

ELECTORATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (ENC)

Lucy McFadden (2022)
NASA (Retired)
lucy.mcfadden@verizon.net

Jill Tarter (2022)
SETI Institute
tarter@seti.org

Rachel A. Osten (2023)
Space Telescope Science Institute
osten@stsci.edu

Catharine (Katy) Garmany (2023)
NSF’s National Optical-Infrared Astronomy Research Laboratory (Retired)
garmany@noao.edu

Note: Terms end on the last day of the Annual Meeting held in the year given in parentheses.