2014 AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize Reception

Highlights from the 2014 AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize reception on 15 February during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

On 15 February, 2014, the AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prizes were presented to five authors (two in abstentia) and one publisher at an awards reception at the 2014 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago. Attending the reception were Emily Anthes, author of Frankenstein's Cat:Cuddling Up to Biotech's Brave New Beasts; Annette Leblanc Cate, author illustrator of Look Up! Birdwatching in Your Own Backyard; and Marc Aronson, co-author of The Skull in the Rock. Photo highlights of the reception are presented below. Also honored at the reception, though unable to attend, were George Ancona, author of It's Our Garden, and Lee Berger, co-author of The Skull in the Rock. Publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt was also presented a special honorary prize for its outstanding children's series of books, Scientists in the Field


From left to right Emily Anthes, Annette Leblanc Cate, Marc Aronson, and his son Sasha Aronson.



Annette Leblanc Cate, winner of the Prize in the Hands-on Category for Look Up! Birdwatching in Your Own Backyard.



Marc Aronson, co-author of The Skull in the Rock, with his son Sasha Aronson. Skull in the Rock was the winner in the Middle Grades Category.



Emily Anthes, winner in the Young Adult Category for Frankenstein's Cat: Cuddling Up to Biotech's Brave New Beasts.


Maria Sosa, editor-in-chief of Science Books & Films (right) and Shirley Malcom, head of the AAAS Directorate for Education and Human Resources (left) present the award to George Ancona in abstentia for It's Our Garden, winner in the Children's Picture Book Category. 


Neela White, 2014 coordinator for the AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize, accepts the Prize on behalf of Author George Ancona.


Abana Jacobs, national promotions and sponsorship specialist for Subaru of America, Inc., is warmly acknowledged for her support of the program by attendees and winners.


Terry Young, chair of the Children's Category Committee, accepts a special prize for Outstanding Science Series on behalf of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt for the Scientists in the Field series. 

To read more about the prize winning books and authors, go here


The AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books is sponsored by Subaru.