Skip to main content

AAAS, Kavli Name Science Journalism Award Winners

Stories on the potential impact of climate change in two localities and on the secret lives of scientists and engineers are among the winners of the 2011 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

Large Newspaper—(Circulation ≥100,000): Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, for “One in a Billion: A Boy’s Life, A Medical Mystery” (series), 19, 22, 26 December 2010.

Small Newspaper—(Circulation <100,000): Christine Peterson, Kerry Huller, Wes Watson, Casper Star-Tribune (Wyoming), for “On Thinning Ice: A Look at Wind River Range’s Shrinking Glaciers” (series), 23-25 January 2011.

Magazine: Adam Rogers, Wired, for “The Angels’ Share,” June 2011.

Television—(Spot News/Feature Reporting, ≤ 20 minutes): Rachel Silverman, Craig Miller, Lindsay Kelliher, Linda Peckham, Amy Miller, Paul Rogers, KQED QUEST/Climate Watch (San Francisco), for “Going Up: Sea Level Rise in San Francisco Bay,” 31 August 2010.

Television—(In-Depth Reporting, >20 minutes): Two winning entries:

Richard Burke-Ward, Robert Strange, Callum Macrae, Stuart Carter, Howard Swartz, WGBH/NOVA, for “Japan’s Killer Quake,” 30 March 2011.

Mark J.Davis, National Geographic Channel, for “Death of a Mars Rover,” 2 June 2011.

Radio: Gabriel Spitzer, with Michael De Bonis, WBEZ Chicago, for “Clever Apes” (series), 26 July and 24 November 2010; 24 May 2011.

Online: Joshua Seftel, Tom Miller, Susan K. Lewis, Lauren Aguirre, PBS NOVA Online, for “The Secret Life of Scientists and Engineers,” (series), 6 October 2010; 2 and 16 February 2011.

Children’s Science News: Jeanne Miller, ODYSSEY Magazine, for “Skywalking for Science: Aloft in Redwood Space,” April 2011.

The awards, administered by AAAS since their inception in 1945, go to professional journalists for distinguished reporting for a general audience. The Kavli Foundation, based in Oxnard, California, provided a generous endowment in 2009 that ensures the future of the awards program.

Independent panels of science journalists pick the winners, who will receive $3000 and a plaque at the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting in Vancouver, British Columbia, in February.