Skip to main content

AAAS, Kavli Name Science Journalism Winners

 A radio broadcast on probability told through a tale about a drifting balloon, a newspaper series on the impact of a devastating genetic disease on a family in rural Montana, and a group of gracefully written stories about genetics and evolution are among the winners of the 2009 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

The winners:

Large Newspaper—(Circulation >100,000): Carl Zimmer, The New York Times

Small Newspaper—(Circulation <100,000): Amie Thompson, Great Falls Tribune.

Magazine: Gary Wolf, Wired.

Television—(Spot News/Feature Reporting, ≤ 20 minutes): Julia Cort, NOVA scienceNOW.

Television—(In-Depth Reporting, >20 minutes): Doug Hamilton, WGBH/NOVA.

Radio: Jad Abumrad, Soren Wheeler, Robert Krulwich, WNYC Radiolab.

Online: Lisa Friedman, ClimateWire.

Children’s Science News: Douglas Fox, Science News for Kids.

Read the full story.