Skip to main content

AAAS Members Awarded New Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

Eight AAAS members were awarded the very first Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences. There were eleven winners total. Each researcher will receive $3 million, more than twice the maximum amount of a Nobel Prize. The new award was created by several Silicon Valley entrepreneurs, including Arthur Levinson of Apple, venture capitalist Yuri Milner, and Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg, with the aim "to recognize excellence in research aimed at curing intractable diseases and extending human life."

Congratulations to all of the researchers selected this year!

The AAAS member recipients include:

  • Fellow -- Cornelia I. Bargmann of Rockefeller University in New York City
  • Fellow -- David Botstein of Princeton University
  • Fellow -- Lewis C. Cantley of Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City
  • Fellow -- Titia de Lange of Rockefeller University
  • Fellow -- Eric S. Lander of Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge
  • Member -- Charles L. Sawyers of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City
  • Fellow -- Bert Vogelstein of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland
  • Fellow -- Robert A. Weinberg of MIT

Science: New Breakthrough Prize Awards Millions to Life Scientists