Skip to main content

Contenders for AAAS 2016 Annual Leadership Elections Unveiled

AAAS building entrance

AAAS Leadership contenders are announced. | AAAS

AAAS CEO Rush Holt announced on 9 Aug. the candidates for President-Elect and the Board of Directors vying in the 2016 AAAS annual election.

AAAS members in good standing will have the opportunity to vote for candidates for President-Elect, the Board of Directors, the Committee on Nominations, and elected officers of the 24 disciplinary Sections. Voting is scheduled to open in mid-October and will run through mid-November.

The winners will assume their new roles following the AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston on 20 February 2017.

Members may petition to have their name added to the ballot for a particular office by submitting the signatures of AAAS members in good standing to the Executive Office no later than 23 September 2016.   Members wishing to pursue this process should contact Kelly O’Brien in the Executive Office at for details on signatories.

Candidates for President-Elect and the Board of Directors are listed below, and candidates for section offices may be found here.


Margaret A. Hamburg
National Academy of Medicine

Douglas S. Massey
Princeton University

Board of Directors

Mark E. Fishman
Harvard Medical School

S. James Gates, Jr.
University of Maryland, College Park

Kaye Husbands Fealing
Georgia Institute of Technology

Thomas E. Lovejoy
George Mason University / UN Foundation