Skip to main content

Eight Researchers Honored at Golden Goose Awards

On September 18, eight scientists were presented with Golden Goose Awards at a ceremony at the Library of Congress.  The awards recognize scientists whose federally-funded basic research, while seemingly obscure or esoteric initially, has had significant impact. 

The awardees were: Larry Smarr, a physicist whose work at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on the physics of black hole collisions led him to advance a federal commitment to dramatically enhance U.S. computing power and to foster the development of NCSA Mosaic, the precursor to today’s web browsers; Robert Wilson, Paul Milgrom, and R. Preston McAfee, economists whose basic research on game theory and auctions—conducted at Stanford University, Northwestern University, and the University of Texas, Austin—enabled the Federal Communications Commission to auction spectrum licenses in 1994, which helped make possible the telecommunications revolution; and Saul Schanberg (deceased), Tiffany Martini Field, Cynthia Kuhn, and Gary Evoniuk, scientists at Duke University and the University of Miami whose research led to the groundbreaking discovery of the importance of touch to human development and the introduction of massage as a dramatically successful element of treatment for premature infants. AAAS is one of the founding organizers of the Golden Goose Awards.