Skip to main content

EurekAlert! Fellowships to Bring Five Chinese Journalists to 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting

EurekAlert!, the global science news service operated by AAAS and its sister site, EurekAlert! Chinese, have selected five recipients for the 2012 AAAS-EurekAlert! Fellowships for International Science Reporters.

The fellowships are intended to help support excellence in science communication worldwide by providing science reporters with the opportunity to cover the latest research and to network with peers from around the world. The five fellows, each an accomplished Chinese science journalist, will participate in the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting 16-20 February in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The fellowship, sponsored by EurekAlert!, pays for travel, lodging and meals at the meeting.

“The 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting will be a perfect opportunity to hear leading scientists’ voices on 21st century issues,” Yongming Huang, a science journalist with Southern Weekly in China, said on receiving the 2012 fellowship.

The five recipients: Yingqi Cheng, Yongming Huang, Shanshan Li, Yan Yan, and Shaoting Ji

The recipients of the 2012 fellowships are:

    •     Yingqi Cheng, China Daily;
    •     Yongming Huang, Southern Weekly;
    •     Shanshan Li, Southern People Weekly;
    •     Shaoting Ji, Xinhua News Agency; and
    • Yan Yan, Science Times Media Group.

“AAAS is the world’s largest scientific society,” said Yan Yan. “Through attending the Annual Meeting, I will learn relevant policies and the current research climate in different countries. This will not only give me fresh information about the latest scientific developments, but also broaden my knowledge of the international science community.”

The fellowships were originally launched in 2004 with a seed grant from the William T. Golden Endowment Fund for Program Innovation. The program brought 10 reporters from China to the 2004 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle. Subsequent fellowships have sponsored reporters from the Middle East, China, Africa, and Latin America.

The theme of the 2012 AAAS Annual Meeting is “Flattening the World: Building the Global Knowledge Society.” In keeping with this theme and the mission of both AAAS and EurekAlert!, the fellowship seeks to promote international scientific dialogue and advance the communication of science news to the global public.

“Attending the AAAS Annual Meeting, for me, means far more than writing news reports,” Qingqi Cheng said. “This fellowship will give me the best chance to communicate with people from every corner of the world.”

The 2012 fellows were chosen by judges from an applicant pool of reporters nominated by their editors at leading Chinese media organizations. Independent judges of the nominations were: Zixue Tai of the University of Kentucky School of Journalism and Telecommunications; Shu-Ling Chen Berggreen of the University of Colorado School of Journalism and Mass Communications; and Xiong Lei, a guest professor at Renmin University of China and former executive editor of China Features.

EurekAlert! will publish meeting coverage by each of the fellows.


Learn more about the recipients for the 2012 AAAS-EurekAlert! Fellowships for International Science Reporters.

Visit EurekAlert!, the global science news service operated by AAAS.