Skip to main content

Nina V. Fedoroff Named AAAS President-Elect

Nina V. Fedoroff, science and technology adviser to the U.S. Secretary of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development has been elected to serve as AAAS president in 2011.

Nina V. Federoff

Fedoroff, a geneticist and molecular biologist, is a pioneering researcher in the fields of plant genetics, plant responses to environmental stress, and genetically modified crops. She is an Evan Pugh Professor of the Pennsylvania State University; in 2003, she became a member of the external faculty of the Santa Fe Institute

Last month, at the close of 2010 meeting, Alice S. Huang began a one-year term as AAAS President. Huang, a senior faculty associate in biology at the California Institute of Technology, is the past president of the American Society for Microbiology and formerly dean for science at New York University. A member of several scientific advisory boards, Huang has also consulted on science policy for government agencies in Singapore and Taiwan.

The former president, Peter C. Agre, is now serving a one-year term as chairman of the AAAS Board of Directors. Agre, a 2003 Nobel Prize laureate, is the director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute and professor at the Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Here are the full election results, with all terms starting at the end of the 2010 Annual Meeting:

General Offices

  • President-Elect: Nina V. Fedoroff
  • Board of Directors: Stephen Mayo, Sue V. Rosser
  • Committee on Nominations: Pamela Bjorkman, Tom Lovejoy, Barbara Schaal, Maxine Singer

Section on Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources

  • Chair-Elect: Charles Arntzen
  • Member-at-Large: Jan Leach
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Shauna Somerville, Jean Steiner

Section on Anthropology

  • Chair-Elect: Cynthia Beall
  • Member-at-Large: Nina Jablonski
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Stephen Leigh, Kathleen O’Connor
  • Council Delegate: Pat Shipman

Section on Astronomy

  • Chair-Elect: John Huchra
  • Member-at-Large: Margaret Meixner
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Giuseppina “Pepi” Fabbiano, Jay Pasachoff
  • Council Delegate: Lori Allen

Section on Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: Otis Brown
  • Member-at-Large: Mary Anne Carroll
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: James H. Butler, John W. Farrington

Section on Biological Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: Mary Lou Guerinot
  • Member-at-Large: Loren Rieseberg
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Charles Aquadro, Jennifer Stone
  • Council Delegates: Bonnie Bartel, James S. Clegg, Lynn Cooley, Marc Feldman, David Gilbert, William Lucas, Nancy Walworth, Susan Wessler

Section on Chemistry

  • Chair-Elect: Cynthia J. Burrows
  • Member-at-Large: Ron Raines
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Klavs Jensen, Timothy P. Lodge
  • Council Delegate: John Hartwig, Clark Landis, Jeanne Robinson

Section on Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: Carolyn W. Gibson
  • Member-at-Large: Kenneth Yamada
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Dennis Mangan, Mina Mina

Section on Education

  • Chair-Elect: Elizabeth Stage
  • Member-at-Large: Sean Decatur
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Patricia Mabrouk, Marilyn Suiter

Section on Engineering

  • Chair-Elect: H. Vincent Poor
  • Member-at-Large: Gary May
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Cynthia Bruckner-Lea, Richard Alkire

Section on General Interest in Science and Engineering

  • Chair-Elect: Judith E. Parker
  • Member-at-Large: Michael Isaacson
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Deborah Illman, Bassam Shakhashiri

Section on Geology and Geography

  • Chair-Elect: Ellen Mosley-Thompson
  • Member-at-Large: Thomas Cronin
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Bruce Molnia, Henry Pollack
  • Council Delegate: Thomas C. Johnson

Section on History and Philosophy of Science

  • Chair-Elect: Jane Maienschein
  • Member-at-Large: Sally Gregory Kohlstedt
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: David Hounshell, Audra Wolfe

Section on Industrial Science and Technology

  • Chair-Elect: Carol J. Burns
  • Member-at-Large: Kenneth A. Jackson

Section on Information, Computing, and Communication

  • Chair-Elect: Vinton G. Cerf
  • Member-at-Large: Maja J. Mataric
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Maureen C. Kelly, Tom Pyke

Section on Linguistics and Language Science

  • Chair-Elect: Mark Liberman
  • Member-at-Large: Jennifer Cole
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Jean-Pierre Koenig, Joseph Salmons

Section on Mathematics

  • Chair-Elect: John Ewing
  • Member-at-Large: Mary Ellen Bock
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Carl Cowen, Robert Megginson
  • Council Delegate: Philippe Tondeur

Section on Medical Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: Edward Benz
  • Member-at-Large: Harriet Robinson
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Lisa Guay-Woodford, Ruth Ruprecht

Section on Neuroscience

  • Chair-Elect: Howard Eichenbaum
  • Member-at-Large: Don Cleveland
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Michael E. Greenberg, Phyllis Wise
  • Council Delegate: Diana Woodruff-Pak

Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: John Slattery
  • Member-at-Large: Ah-Ng “Tony” Kong
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Michael Mayersohn, David Ross

Section on Physics

  • Chair-Elect: J. Murray Gibson
  • Member-at-Large: Jolie Cizewski
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: S. James Allen, Katharine Gebbie
  • Council Delegate: David Gross, John Negele

Section on Psychology

  • Chair-Elect: John Cacioppo
  • Member-at-Large: Jocelyne Bachevalier
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Joe Martinez, Janet Werker

Section on Social, Economic, and Political Sciences

  • Chair-Elect: Kenneth Bollen
  • Member-at-Large: Julia Lane
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: David Collier, Nancy Lewis

Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

  • Chair-Elect: Rachel Levinson
  • Member-at-Large: Howard Gobstein
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Angela Creager, Donna Nelson

Section on Statistics

  • Chair-Elect: Thomas A. Louis
  • Member-at-Large: M. Elizabeth Halloran
  • Electorate Nominating Committee: Marie Davidian, Nick Jewell