Skip to main content

The Polish-American Scientific Award 2015






The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) are pleased to announce an opening call for nominations in the second edition of the Polish-American Scientific Award.


The award addresses outstanding scientific achievements in any field of science accomplished in American-Polish scientific cooperation and is granted jointly to two researchers on the basis of a competition. The Award amounts to $5,000 for each of the researchers.

All active members of the Polish and American scientific community holding a doctoral degree, or working as a researcher or research administrator at a university or other R&D institution (including the industrial sector) are eligible to nominate candidates for the Award. Self-nominations shall be also considered.

Each nomination shall refer jointly to a team of research collaborators, one member working in Poland and one member working in the United States, regardless of their nationality.

Nominations should contain the following:

  • Acknowledgement of the joint scientific achievement made by collaborations between the two candidates in the sense of the award
  • Curricula vitae of both scientists and a list of publications relevant to the joint achievement
  • One letter of support for the nominees (in case of self-nominations-two)—the author of which should not be the nominator nor the nominees.

If you submitted a nomination for the previous award cycle and would like to have that nomination be considered again, please simply notify us. Any additional/updated materials can also be sent.

Nominations shall be submitted in English either in paper or electronic version by the closing date of  December 31, 2015 to one of the following addresses:

Hend Ghobrial, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Sixth Floor, 1200 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20005, USA,  

Katarzyna Pronobis, ul. I. Krasickiego 20/22, 02-611 Warsaw, Poland,

The contest is carried out by a joint committee of AAAS and FNP including external members. The award ceremony will take place in a ceremonial setting. AAAS and FNP will invite the laureates for a honorary lecture in their respective countries.

The first competition saw 55 nominations all of which represented a very high standard. World-renowned scientists - Prof. Mariusz Jaskólski of Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland, and Dr. Alexander Wlodawer of the National Cancer Institute, USA – were the first winners of the Poland –U. S. Science Award.  The Jaskólski - Wlodawer team received it for structural studies on proteins of medical relevance, which have contributed to the development of new therapies to cure human diseases, such as AIDS or leukemia in children.

For more information please address:

Katarzyna Pronobis at FNP: +48 22 845 95 09

Hend Ghobrial at AAAS: +1.202.326.6655