Skip to main content

Recipients In The News

- AAAS Eukalert announces the first group of Marion Milligan Mason award recipients

- University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign annouces its faculty member Alison Fout, as award recipient

- Utah MRSEC annouces Luisa Wittaker-Brooks, its faculty member, as award recipient

- Michigan State University announces its faculty member Kristin Parent, as Marion Milligan Mason Award recipient

- University of Connecticut announced all recipients in this announcement

"I am honored to be one of the recipients of the AAAS Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences,” Parent said. “Virus structure has always fascinated me, and cryo-electron microscopy has been an interest of mine since the time I was a graduate student. Recent advances in technology finally allow us to glean information for large specimens that were previously outside of the scope of cryo-EM."

Dr. Kristin P. Parent, quote extracted from Michigan State University Announcement

"I am honored and humbled to have been selected for the Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical sciences by AAAS. This prestigious award will not only allow my research group to further pursue the reduction of nitrite, an essential biological process for regulating blood pressure, but also provides additional leadership and mentoring opportunites for early-career female scientists."

Dr. Alison Fout, quote extracted from Chemistry at Illinois Announcement






- Federal Technology Watch also announced recipients in its seciton "People In The News": Alison Fout (assistant professor, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Katherine Mackey (assistant professor, UC Irvine), Kristin Parent (professor, Michigan State Univ.) and Luisa Whittaker-Brookes (assistant professor, Univ. of Utah) were named the first recipients of the Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences. They each received a $50,000 grant and trophy in a ceremony Oct.15 at the AAAS headquarters in Washington DC, presented by AAAS president Geraldine Richmond (Univ. of Oregon) and Laura Greene (National High Magnetic Field Laboratory). The new awards come from a $2.2-million fund created by the late Marion Milligan Mason, a chemist, to support research by early-career women in the chemical sciences. The awards are administered by AAAS. Each of the recipients summarized how they intend to use their grants. Rush Holt, AAAS CEO, and Shirley Malcom, AAAS Education & Human Resources programs director, also took part in the event.

Source: Federal Technology Watch, edited by Neil MacDonald, vol. 13(40), October 19, 2015.