Representatives Announce Golden Goose Awardee

On February 15, Reps. Jim Cooper (D-TN) and Randy Hultgren (R-IL) announced the most recent winner of the Golden Goose Award to honor research that may have seemed obscure at the time, but which has had a positive impact onsociety.  The award, announced at the AAAS Annual Meeting, will go to Professor Larry Smarr whose research into black holes led to the first federally supported national supercomputing research center and the development of a shared web browser. Cooper and Hultgren published an editorial on the importance of federally funded basic research entitled, "Golden Goose: Where offbeat science, is good science" in The Hill newspaper.