Skip to main content

Science and Human Rights Coalition Announces 2017 Student Essay Competition Winners

The AAAS Science and Human Rights Coalition has announced the winners of its fourth annual student essay competition. The competition was open to undergraduate and graduate students, who were invited to write an essay on any topic at the intersection of science, technology and human rights. 

66 students from 32 different countries entered the competition. The essays covered a wide range of topics at the intersection of science of human rights, including reproductive technologies, food security, artificial intelligence, data privacy, and access to water.  The winners will be recognized at the July 27, 2017 Science and Human Rights Coalition Meeting in Washington, D.C. 

Graduate Student Category:


Miriam Aczel, Imperial College London 
Essay Title: "Fracking and Human Rights: Using a Rights-Based Framework to Regulate a New Technology"

Honorable Mention

Kylie Orme, University of Utah
Essay Title: “Mr. Robot: Morality, AI, and Personhood” 

Undergraduate Student Category:


Church Lieu, California State University – Los Angeles
Essay Title: "The Augmentation Gap"

Honorable Mention

Elaine Huang, Lafayette College
Essay Title: "Doomed to Digital Dependence? Children in the Age of Persuasive Technology"

Many thanks to the judges:

  • Ali Arab
  • William Baker
  • Angela Bielefeldt
  • Andrea Boggio
  • Emily Cloyd
  • Lucas Hackl
  • Eric Harris
  • Arthur Kendall
  • Coleen Kivlahan
  • Juan Lopez
  • Arthur Lustig
  • Andrea Maurano
  • Priya Menon
  • Robert O'Malley
  • Tanner Rolfe
  • Laureen Summers
  • Judith Tanur
  • Jeffrey Toney
  • Jessica Wyndham
  • Saida Zardi