Skip to main content

Science's Jon Cohen Awarded CASW's Victor Cohn Prize

Jon Cohen, contributing correspondent for Science has been named winner of CASW's 2012 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting. Cohen was awarded the prize "in recognition of his exemplary coverage of a broad range of biomedical topics, but most notably his distinguished and persistent chronicling of the global HIV/AIDS epidemic."

CASW established the Victor Cohn prize in 2000. The annual prize honor's a writer for a body of work published or broadcast within the last five years which, "for reasons of uncommon clarity, accuracy, breadth of coverage, enterprise, originality, insight and narrative power, has made a profound and lasting contribution to public awareness and understanding of critical advances in medical science and their impact on human health and well-being."

Cohen will receive the $3,000 check and a certificate in Raleigh, North Carolina, at an awards ceremony on October 27.

Recent winners of the Victor Cohn prize:

2011 - Ron Winslow, The Wall Street Journal
2010 - Marilynn Marchione, The Associated Press
2009 - Denise Grady, The New York Times
2008 - Joe Palca, National Public Radio
2007 - Geeta Anand, staff writer, The Wall Street Journal
2006 - Jerome Groopman, staff writer, The New Yorker
2005 - Rick Weiss, reporter, The Washington Post
2004 - Michelle Trudeau, reporter, National Public Radio
2003 - Shannon Brownlee, freelance reporter
2002 - Daniel Q. Haney, medical editor, The Associated Press
2001 - Jon Palfreman, freelance documentary filmmaker
2000 - Laurie Garrett, reporter, Newsday , and Lawrence K. Altman, reporter, The New York Times