Skip to main content

Submit Nominations Today for AAAS Awards

Logo for 2023 AAAS Awards & Prizes

Nominations are now open for nine of AAAS’ awards that honor scientists, engineers, innovators, public servants and authors for their contributions to science and society.

The following awards are accepting nominations between April 15 and June 30, 2022:

Nominations for the AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books will be open between April 15 and July 8.

“These awards and prizes represent some of our most valued principles here at AAAS. These outstanding individuals have dedicated their careers and livelihoods to improving the world with science, and we’re proud to see them receive this recognition,” said Sudip S. Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals, upon the announcement of the 2022 awards.

Award winners will be recognized at the 2023 AAAS Annual Meeting, which will be held in Washington, D.C., and virtually.

Learn more about several past award winners – a diverse group of scientists, educators and innovators who have demonstrated excellence in their fields.

AAAS David and Betty Hamburg Award for Science Diplomacy

Since 1992, AAAS has recognized individuals and small groups in the science, engineering or foreign affairs communities who have made outstanding contributions to the field of science diplomacy. In 2021, the AAAS Award for Science Diplomacy was renamed for David and Betty Hamburg to honor their long careers in science and medicine, championed science diplomacy as a means of advancing science, human rights, peace and cooperation.

The first winner of the renamed award was Sir David A. King, a South African-born British physical chemist who has worked at the forefront of international action to address climate change. As the U.K.’s chief scientific advisor from 2000 to 2007, King elevated the role of climate change in the country’s foreign policy diplomacy. More recently, he helped establish The Centre for Climate Repair at Cambridge University.

“Integrity in a scientist is critical,” King told AAAS earlier this year. “The same has to be true for a scientist in the political domain. Your integrity is your singularly most important property. It’s what makes a scientist stand out because all of that training brings you into that position.”

AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science

The AAAS Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science is one of two AAAS awards recognizing scientists who demonstrate excellence in their public engagement with science activities. Kizzmekia Corbett was the 2022 recipient of the 2022 Early Career Award for Public Engagement with Science for her work in developing the lifesaving Moderna mRNA vaccine against SARS-CoV-2. She also played a central role in the effort to address vaccine inquisitiveness in communities of color, her nominators noted.

In a letter supporting Corbett’s nomination, former NIH Director Francis Collins highlighted her “marvelous ability to connect with audiences and explain science to the public.” Another nominator, Kafui Dzirasa of Duke University, said Corbett “has likely saved tens of thousands of lives in the last year. When people are asked why they decided to take the vaccine, they say ‘because of Dr. Kizzy.’”

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

AAAS’ oldest award, the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, has since 1923 recognized an outstanding original research paper published in Science each year. The winning paper is chosen based on the quality of its scholarship, innovation, presentation, likelihood of influencing its field, and its wider interdisciplinary significance.

In 2022, AAAS honored an international collaboration co-led by Susan Wilde, associate professor of aquatic science at the University of Georgia and Timo Niedermeyer, professor of pharmacognosy at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in Germany.

Their paper, “Hunting the eagle killer: A cyanobacterial neurotoxin causes vacuolar myelinopathy,” uncovered the mystery behind a mass die-off of bald eagles in Arkansas in 1994.


Andrea Korte

Related Scientific Disciplines