Skip to main content

When STPF fellows become AAAS Fellows, it’s a time to celebrate

In support of the organization’s mission to advance science, engineering and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people, each year AAAS honors members who have made significant contributions to science and technology. Elected by their peers who serve on the Council of AAAS, a diverse group of 443 scientists and engineers – eight of whom are STPF alumni fellows of the AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellowships (STPF) program – have earned the designation of “AAAS Fellow.”  

The STPF program extends hearty congratulations to the STPF alumni below who were elected AAAS Fellows. Click here to see the full list of 2019 AAAS Fellows.  

AAAS Fellows are chosen in recognition of achievement in a broad spectrum of work ranging from innovative research supporting the public’s understanding of science. They are elected in each of AAAS’s 24 sections. Sections – ranging from Astronomy to Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering – are comprised of AAAS members who provide AAAS leadership with expertise on issues of importance within the scientific community. 

Jerry D. Glover 

Jer FF

2010-12 STPF fellow at U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
Section on Agriculture, Food, and Renewable Resources
Glover is a senior sustainable agricultural systems advisor at USAID and a National Geographic Society Explorer. His work focuses on collaborating with farmers in developing countries to develop sustainable farming strategies to further increase food production and improve livelihoods.

Lin FF
Herbert Lin. | Kat Song/AAAS

Herbert S. Lin

1986-87 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellow in the House Committee on Armed Services sponsored by AAAS
Section on Information, Computing and Communication

Lin has a doctorate in physics and is at Stanford University as a senior research scholar for cyber policy and security at the Center for International Security and Cooperation and Hank J. Holland Fellow in Cyber Policy and Security at the Hoover Institution. At the intersection of cybersecurity and policy, he is interested in the use of offensive operations in cyberspace as an instrument of national policy and in the security dimensions of information warfare and influence operations on national security. “I could not have been elected a AAAS Fellow nor done any meaningful work at all in national security policy without the jump-start provided by the STPF program,” said Lin.

Hugo A. Loaciga
1987-88 STPF fellow at the Environmental Protection Agency
Section on Geology and Geography

Loaiciga served as a member of the water commission for the City of Santa Barbara for six years before joining the geography department as a professor at U.C. Santa Barbara in 1988. His work is far-ranging and includes groundwater and earthquakes hazards, stormwater management in urban areas, watershed management and other hydrology and water resources problems. Loaiciga commented, “The STPF fellowship was an important milestone in advancing my scientific career.”

Makenzie Lystrup 
2011-12 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellow sponsored by the Acoustical Society of America & American Institute of Physics in the office of Rep. Edward Markey
Section on Astronomy

Immediately following her STPF fellowship, Lystrup joined Ball Aerospace to help develop business opportunities with government agencies such as NASA and other organizations in the research and private sectors. Today, she is Ball’s vice president and general manager for the civil space strategic business unit where she oversees the company’s activities in astrophysics, planetary science, heliophysics and space weather, Earth science and environmental monitoring, operational weather, and land imaging.

William R. Moomaw 
1975-76 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellow in the U.S. Senate sponsored by AAAS
Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

With a doctorate in physical chemistry, Moomaw is professor emeritus of international environmental policy and founding director of the Center for International Environment and Resource Policy at The Fletcher School, Tufts University. Today, he is co-director of the Global Development and Environment Institute at Tufts, which he co-founded. As an STPF fellow, he worked on legislation that addressed ozone depletion and on legislation responding to the 1973 energy crisis.

Melanie Roberts. | Kat Song/AAAS

Melanie Roberts

2006-07 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellow in the U.S. Senate sponsored by AAAS
2007-08 STPF fellow at the National Science Foundation
Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

At the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Roberts directs state and regional affairs where she addresses challenges in energy resilience, security and environment, and seeks ways to strengthen the regional innovation ecosystem. She connects scientific and technical expertise with challenges facing States, like modernizing the electric grid and reducing waste. “My proudest career accomplishments and most valuable learning experiences have involved other STPF alumni. I'm grateful to be part of such a powerful and supportive network,” Roberts said.

Dahlia Sokolov | Kat Song/AAAS

Dahlia Sokolov

2004-05 Congressional Science & Engineering Fellow in the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology sponsored by American Institute of Physics
Section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering

With a doctorate in bioengineering, Sokolov started her 15-year career in Congress as a fellow in the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. Today, she is the democratic staff director of the Science Committee’s Subcommittee on Research & Technology, where she advises Committee Members on oversight and legislative issues on matters related to Federal support for academic research, emerging technologies, standards, innovation, and STEM education.


Kat Song

Communications & Digital Strategy Director

Nichelle Hayes


Related Focus Areas