Skip to main content

Winners Named in AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards

Probing environmental reports and intriguing memory studies were among the 2010 winners of the prestigious AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

Large Newspaper—(Circulation ≥100,000): Charles Duhigg, The New York Times, for “Toxic Waters,” 17 December 2009, 13 September 2009, and 23 August 2009.

Small Newspaper—(Circulation <100,000): Hillary Rosner, High Country News, for “One Tough Sucker,” 7 June 2010.

Magazine: Steve Silberman, Wired, for “The Placebo Problem,” September 2009.

Television—(Spot News/Feature Reporting, ≤ 20 minutes): Sarah Holt, NOVA scienceNOW, for “How Memory Works,” 25 August 2009.

Spot News Certificate of Merit: Vince Patton, Nick Fisher, Michael Bendixen and Todd Sonflieth, Oregon Public Broadcasting, for “Murres and Eagles” and “Pygmy Owls,” 4 February 2010 and 18 February 2010.

Television—(In-Depth Reporting, >20 minutes): Alan Alda, Graham Chedd, Larry Engel, and Jared Lipworth, THIRTEEN, in association with WNET.ORG, for “The Human Spark,” 6, 13, and 20 January 2010.

Radio: Richard Harris and Alison Richards, NPR, for “Follow the Science: Calculating the Amount of Oil and Gas in the Gulf Oil Spill,” 14, 20, and 28 May 2010.

Radio Certificate of Merit: Gabriel Spitzer, WBEZ, for “Researchers Probe How Music Rewires the Brain,” 10 September 2009.

Online: William Saletan, Slate, for “The Memory Doctor,” 4 June 2010.

Children’s science news: Cody Crane, Science World (Scholastic), for “Learning from Bears,” “Real-Life Bloodsuckers,” and “Saving the Ozone Layer,” 1 February 2010; 26 October 2009; and 7 September 2009.

The awards, administered by AAAS since their inception in 1945, go to professional journalists for distinguished reporting for a general audience. The Kavli Foundation, based in Oxnard, California, provided a generous endowment for the program in 2009.

Independent panels of science journalists pick the winners, who will receive $3000 and a plaque at the 2011 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.