Skip to main content

Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy

The Committee on Science, Engineering and Public Policy (COSEPP) is appointed by the Association's Board of Directors, and members serve a three-year term. The purpose of the Committee is to foster improved policy making on issues involving science and technology. It seeks to serve this purpose by several means:

  • by convening groups to provide advice and guidance to organizations involved in the policymaking process, including (but not limited to) Congress and the executive branch agencies of the federal government;
  • by stimulating, commissioning, overseeing, and disseminating studies and analyses of issues in science, engineering, and public policy; and
  • by promoting reasoned and balanced policy discussions and debate among contending points of view on such issues.

The Committee reviews the Association’s public policy activities, alerts AAAS to S&T policy issues that its members see coming over the horizon, oversees the annual AAAS Forum on Science and Technology Policy as well as the annual AAAS reports on federally supported R&D, and sponsors other activities such as symposia and workshops at the AAAS Annual Meeting to help scientists and engineers communicate more effectively with policymakers. COSEPP meets twice during the year, once in conjunction with the AAAS Annual Meeting in February and once in Washington, DC. In addition, the committee holds a half-day teleconference in the summer.

Committee Members

Mary Maxon (Chair)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Kate Stoll (Vice Chair)
MIT Washington Office

Michelle McMurry-Heath 
Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO)

Kathie L. Olsen 
KLO International, LLC

Tim Profeta 
Duke University

Ann Reid 
National Center for Science Education

Tobin Smith 
Association of American Universities

Irving Wladawsky-Berger

Board Liaison

Bill Provine 
DuPont Experimental Station