Skip to main content

Committee on Science and Technology Engagement with the Public (CoSTEP)

The AAAS Committee on Science & Technology Engagement with the Public (CoSTEP) is appointed by the Association's Board of Directors. Members serve for a term of three years, beginning and ending with the AAAS Annual Meeting in February, and may be reappointed for a second term.

CoSTEP supports AAAS in its mission to “advance science, engineering, and innovation throughout the world for the benefit of all people” and goals related to enhancing communication among scientists, engineers, and the public; providing a voice for science on societal issues; and increasing public engagement with science and technology. The objectives of the committee are:

  • To develop and support an array of programming across different media that can enhance attention to and awareness of science and technology, including print, radio, television, and other electronic media, and to explore the development of non-traditional mechanisms for communicating science to the public (such as street fairs, carnivals, events in malls, etc.);
  • To enhance the ability of informal science and technology education organizations, such as museums and zoos, to deliver quality programming by increasing their connections to scientists and engineers and by expanding their outreach to multiple audiences;
  • To support the development of programs that enhance the ability of scientists and engineers to engage and communicate with the public; and
  • To foster dialogue and act as a connector between science and society so the public can find the high-quality science information they need.

The committee focuses its efforts on strengthening the links across science, engineering and the working media as well as science spaces; addressing issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion in STEM; and promoting ways to enlist and prepare the scientific community to communicate science to and engage with the general public.

Committee Members

Chair: Megan Halpern
Michigan State University
2016-2019, 2019-2022

Heather A. Berlin
Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai

Sibrina N. Collins
Lawrence Technological University
2018-2021, 2021-2024

Jerry DeSilva
Dartmouth College

Shelley Wilks Geehr
2016-2019, 2019-2022

Seema Kumar
Johnson & Johnson
2018-2021, 2021-2024

Mark Liberman
University of Pennsylvania

Patricia Marsteller
Emory University

Rabiah Mayas
Museum of Science and Industry

Liz Neeley
Liminal Creations, LLC

Steve Pierson
American Statistical Association
2017-2020, 2020-2023

Czerne Reid
University of Florida

Alison VanEenennaam
University of California, Davis


AAAS Staff for CoSTEP

Stacey Baker
Program Associate, AAAS Center for Public Engagement with Science and Technology

Emily Therese Cloyd
Director, AAAS Center for Public Engagement with Science and Technology

For questions about CoSTEP, contact