Skip to main content

How to Attend CASE: University/Society Funding

U.S.-based universities and scientific/engineering societies who are “Sponsoring Institutions” may sponsor and fund between 1-4 students to attend the CASE workshop each year. A student must be sponsored and funded by their scientific society or their university in order to attend the workshop.

About Sponsoring Institutions

To send students to the CASE workshop, a society or university (or a university department) must sign up as a “Sponsoring Institution” with the AAAS Office of Government Relations to indicate their participation as a sponsoring institution. The list of Sponsoring Institutions will be made available for eligible students who wish to be sponsored to attend the workshop by their university or by their society.

A sponsoring institution is responsible for covering a $250 workshop registration fee per student, as well as all associated travel and lodging costs for their students.

Sponsoring institutions are also responsible for coordinating (optional) Congressional visits on Capitol Hill for their students on the final day of the workshop.

Learn more about becoming sponsoring institution here.

Eligibility and Application

A student must be affiliated (a student member or student in good standing) with that institution and be selected to participate by that institution. Each university and society that is sponsoring students to the workshop is responsible for selecting its own students and may have its own application process.

If your university or society is included in the below list of 2020 Sponsoring Institutions, students should reach out the point of contact listed for more information on the institution’s selection process.

If you do not see your university or society listed and are interested in attending the workshop, consider asking your university, graduate college, department or scientific society to sponsor a student(s) to attend the workshop.

Students being sponsored by their university or society should NOT complete the AAAS student application. 

Workshop Costs

The workshop registration fee is $250 per student. Sponsoring institutions are responsible for covering this cost, as well as all associated travel and lodging costs for their students.

2020 Workshop Dates

Sunday, March 29 - Wednesday, April 1, 2020

See past workshop agenda here.

2020 Sponsoring Institutions

The list of 2020 sponsoring institutions will continue to be updated here.

Sponsoring Institution Point of Contact Contact Email
AAAS Joanne Carney jcarney@aaas.org
American Astronomical Society  Kelsie Krafton Kelsie.Krafton@aas.org
American Geophysical Union Elizabeth Landau ELandau@agu.org
American Mathematical Society  Karen Saxe and Anita Benjamin kxs@ams.org; alb@ams.org
Boston University  Emily Burlij eaburlij@bu.edu
Cornell University  Sara Xayarath Hernández sh267@cornell.edu
Emory University Susanne Salehi susanne.salehi@emory.edu
Georgetown University Maria Snyder Maria.Snyder@georgetown.edu
Johns Hopkins University Homewood Campus Justin Lorts Justin.lorts@jhu.edu
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Moremi Oladeinde moladei1@jhmi.edu
Louisiana State University J.F. DiTusa ditusa@phys.lsu.edu
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Kate Stoll kstoll@mit.edu
Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Carol J. Prestegard Prestegard.Carol@mayo.edu
National Science Policy Network Michaela Rikard michaela@scipolnetwork.org
Ohio State University  Jenny Shields Shields.68@osu.edu
Penn State University  Jessica R. Hoffman jrs5162@psu.edu; gsfellowships@psu.edu
Purdue University Linda Mason lmason@purdue.edu
Rice University Daniel Morali daniel.morali@rice.edu
Rutgers University Eileen Kowler acadean@grad.rutgers.edu 
Texas A&M University  Linda Thurman lfthurman@tamu.edu
Tulane University School of Medicine Diane A. Blake blake@tulane.edu
UC Berkeley Gina Daly ginadaly@berkeley.edu
UCLA Greg Payne gpayne@mednet.ucla.edu
University at Buffalo  Elizabeth A. Colucci colucci3@buffalo.edu
University of Colorado Boulder Heather Bené  heather.bene@cu.edu
University of Georgia Meredith Welch-Devine mwdevine@uga.edu
University of Massachusetts Amherst Shana Passonno passonno@grad.umass.edu
University of Michigan Gina Shereda ginhedbe@umich.edu
University of Minnesota  Noro Andriamanalina  andri002@umn.edu
University of Pittsburgh  Meghan Culpepper Msc80@pitt.edu
University of Virginia Marlit Hayslett marlit@virginia.edu
Vanderbilt University Heather Bloemhard heather.bloemhard@Vanderbilt.Edu
Virginia Commonwealth University F. Douglas Boudinot fdboudinot@vcu.edu
Washington State University  Lisa M. Gloss  lmgloss@wsu.edu
West Virginia University Jay Cole jay.cole@mail.wvu.edu

Contact Us

Please send questions about the workshop to govrelations@aaas.org.